GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3849 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12-08-2015

Minority Commission

3849. SHRI ELUMALAI V:

Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of States and Union Territories where Minority Commissions have been set up;
- (b) the details of States and Union Territories where these Commissions have not been set up so far;
- (c) the time by which such Commissions would be set up in the remaining States and UTs;
- (d) whether the Government of those States where Hindus are in minority have also constituted the Minority Commission; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI MUKHTAR ABBAS NAQVI)

- (a) As per information furnished by the National Commission for Minorities (NCM), the States of Andhra Pradesh, Telengana, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, NCT of Delhi, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand and West Bengal have set up State Minority Commission.
- (b) The States of Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Sikkim and UTs of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep and Puducherry have not yet set up a Minority Commission in their respective States/UTs. The NCM Act does not extend to state of Jammu&Kashmir. Tripura has passed a Bill in this regard on 26.11.2008 which awaits assent of the President.
- (c) No time frame can be given, as it is for the concerned States/UTs to set up Minority Commissions in their respective States/UTs.
- (d)&(e) In so far as the Central Government is concerned, Hindus have not been declared as a minority community under Section 2(c) of National Commission for Minorities (NCM) Act, 1992. Setting up of Minority Commissions by the State Governments is a State subject.
