GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2180 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.08.2015

WATER RECYCLING PLANTS AT RAILWAY STATIONS

2180. SHRI ANANDRAO ADSUL:

SHRI DHARMENDRA YADAV:

SHRI ADHALRAO PATIL SHIVAJIRAO:

SHRI SHRIRANG APPA BARNE:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Railways are considering to set up water recycling plants at railway stations to avoid wastage of water and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether any criteria has been fixed to set up those plants and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Railways propose to set up water recycling plants at all the major railway stations and if so, the details thereof, State-wise; and
- (d) the criteria fixed for selecting stations and the details of stations selected for the purpose; State-wise including Uttar Pradesh?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

(a) to (d): Yes, Madam. Water Recycling Plants (WRPs) are already functioning at 29 major water consumption centres on Indian Railways. In addition, 32 railway stations handling large volume of passenger traffic and falling under 'A-1' & 'A' category have been identified during the current financial year for provision of WRPs duly considering techno-economic viability, out of which works of provision of WRPs at 24 stations have alredy been sanctioned. The details of 32 stations identified for setting up of WRPs, State-wise including in Uttar Pradesh are appended.

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2180 BY SHRI ANANDRAO ADSUL, SHRI DHARMENDRA YADAV, SHRI ADHALRAO PATIL SHIVAJIRAO AND SHRI SHRIRANG APPA BARNE TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03.08.2015 REGARDING WATER RECYCLING PLANTS AT RAILWAY STATIONS

State	Stations (with category) identified for provision of
	WRP
Andhra Pradesh (2)	Tirupati (A-1) & Visakhapatnam (A-1)
Bihar (2)	Katihar (A) & Rajendra Nagar (A)
Chhattisgarh (1)	Raipur (A-1)
Delhi (1)	New Delhi (A-1)
Jharkhand (1)	Tata Nagar (A-1)
Karnataka (3)	Hubli (A), Mangalore Central (A) & Mysore (A)
Kerala (3)	Palakkad (A), Shornaur Jn. (A) & Trivandrum
	Central (A-1)
Madhya Pradesh (1)	Itarsi (A)
Maharashtra(5)	Bandra Terminus (A-1), CST Mumbai (A-1), Lokmanya
	Tilak (T) (A-1), Pune (A-1) & Solapur (A-1)
Rajasthan (2)	Ajmer (A-1) & Kota (A-1)
Tamil Nadu (5)	Coimbatore (A-1), Erode Jn. (A), Madurai (A-1),
	Tiruchchirappalli (A) & Villupuram (A)
Telangana (2)	Hyderabad (A-1) & Kacheguda (A-1)
Uttar Pradesh (2)	Jhansi (A-1) & Lucknow (A-1)
West Bengal (2)	Howrah (A-1) & Sealdah (A-1)
