GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1749 TO BE ANSWERED ON 30.07.2015

REVIVAL OF GAS-BASED POWER PLANTS

1749. SHRI Y.S. AVINASH REDDY: SHRI PRABHAKAR REDDY KOTHA:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware that several gas-based power plants have been stranded;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the action taken thereon;
- (c) whether any subsidies and tax concessions are being offered to these plants and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the details of Power Plants being given revival packages across the country?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

- (a) to (c): Yes, Madam. Government of India has sanctioned a scheme for importing spot RLNG in 2015-16 and 2016-17 for the stranded gas based power plants as well as for plants receiving gas upto the target PLF selected through a reverse e-bidding process. The scheme provides for financial support from PSDF (Power System Development Fund). The outlay for the support from PSDF has been fixed at ₹7500 crores (₹3500 crores and ₹4000 crores for the year 2015-16 and 2016-17 respectively). The concessions provided for under the scheme are as under:
- (i) Custom duty waiver on imported LNG;
- (ii) Waiver of Value Added Tax, Central Sales Tax, Octroi and Entry Tax;
- (iii) Waiver of Service Tax on regasification and transportation;
- (iv) Reduction in pipeline tariff charges, regasification charges and marketing margin;
- (v) Exemption from transmission charges and losses for stranded gas based power projects.
- (d): Details of plants eligible for benefits under the above scheme after competitive bidding are given at Annex-I and Annex-II.

ANNEX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1749 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 30.07.2015.

LIST OF STRANDED GAS BASED CAPACITY

S.No.	Name of Power Station	Installed Capacity (MW)
1	RATNAGIRI (RGPPL-DHABHOL)	1967
2	PRAGATI CCGT-III	750
3	DHUVARAN CCPP(GSECL)	112
4	UTRAN CCPP(GSECL)	374
5	PIPAVAV CCPP	702
6	DHUVARAN CCPP(GSECL)	376.3
7	HAZIRA CCPP EXT	351
8	VATWA CCPP (TORRENT)	100
9	RITHALA CCPP (NDPL)	108
10	ESSAR CCPP **	300
11	UNOSUGEN CCPP	382.5
12	DGEN Mega CCPP	1200
13	GAUTAMI CCPP	464
14	GMR - KAKINADA (Tanirvavi)	220
15	JEGURUPADU CCPP (GVK)	220.5
16	KONASEEMA CCPP	445
17	KONDAPALLI EXTN CCPP.	366
18	VEMAGIRI CCPP	370
19	SRIBA INDUSTRIES	30
20	RVK ENERGY	28
21	SILK ROAD SUGAR	35
22	LVS POWER	55
23	GMR Vemagiri Exp	768
24	Kondapalli Exp St-III	742
25	Samalkot Exp	2400
26	CCGT by Panduranga	116
27	Gas Engine by Astha	35
28	Kashipur Sravanthi St-I&II	450
29	Beta Infratech CCGT	225
30	Gama Infraprop CCGT	225
31	CCGT by Pioneer Gas Power Ltd	388

ANNEX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1749 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 30.07.2015.

LIST OF PLANTS RECEIVING DOMESTIC GAS

S. No	Name of	Installed
	Power Station	Capacity (MW)
1	NTPC,FARIDABAD CCPP	431.59
2	NTPC, ANTA CCPP	419.33
3	NTPC, AURAIYA CCPP	663.36
4	NTPC, DADRI CCPP	829.78
5	NTPC, GANDHAR (JHANORE)	657.39
6	NTPC, KAWAS CCPP	656.2
7	I.P.CCPP	270
8	PRAGATI CCGT-III	750
9	PRAGATI CCPP	330.4
10	DHOLPUR CCPP	330
11	DHUVARAN CCPP(GSECL)	106.42
12	HAZIRA CCPP(GSEG)	156.1
13	UTRAN CCPP(GSECL)	144
14	URAN CCPP (MAHAGENCO)	672
15	TROMBAY CCPP (TPC)	180
16	BARODA CCPP (GIPCL)	160
17	GODAVARI (SPECTRUM)	208
18	JEGURUPADU CCPP (GVK)	235.4
19	KONDAPALLI CCPP (LANCO)	350
20	PEDDAPURAM (BSES)	220
21	VIJESWARAN CCPP	272
22	PEGUTHAN CCPP (GTEC)	655
23	SUGEN CCPP (TORRENT)	1147.5
