GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.191 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.08.2015

IT VISION IN RAILWAYS

*191. SHRI MOHITE PATIL VIJAYSINH SHANKARRAO: SHRI B. VINOD KUMAR:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Railways have set up an Information Technology Advisory Council to create an Information Technology(IT) vision for the Railways and identify areas to leverage newer technologies to improve the efficiency of its vast and complex network.
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the terms of reference and the composition of the Council;
- (c) the number of the meetings held by the Council; and
- (d) the time by which the Council is likely to submit its report to the Railways?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS (SHRI SURESH PRABHAKAR PRABHU)

(a) to (d) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF STARRED QUESTION NO.191 BY SHRI MOHITE PATIL VIJAYSINH SHANKARRAO AND SHRI B. VINOD KUMAR TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03.08.2015 REGARDING IT VISION IN RAILWAYS

- (a) &(b): Yes, Madam. Fourteen Member Advisory Council has been constituted under the Chairmanship of Shri Som Mittal, former President NASSCOM (National Association of Software and Services Companies) and Member, Expert Committee on HR (Human Resource) policy for e-governance set up by National e-Governance Division (NeGD) to assist in the drafting of the IT (Information Technology) Vision for the Indian Railways. The other Members of the Advisory Council are:
- 1. Shri Narendra Karmakar- Ex. Professor, TIFR (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research) and expert in Super Computing.
- 2. Shri M.P. Jaiswal, Dean and Professor, Information Management, MDI (Management Development Institute) Gurgaon.
- 3. Shri Rajesh Mathur, Vice-President, Association of Geospatial Industries.
- 4. Additional Member/C&IS(Computerization & Information System), Railway Board.
- 5. Managing Director/CRIS(Centre for Railway Information System), Chanakyapuri, New Delhi.
- 6. CMD(Chairman & Managing Director), RailTel Corporation of Indian Ltd.
- 7. Director(Operations)/CRIS, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi.
- 8. Shri A.K. Valani, Sr. Director(e-Gov), Deity(Department of Electronics & Information Technology).
- 9. Dr. P.G. Diwakar, DDG(Deputy Director General), National Remote Sensing Centre(NRSC)

- 10.Chief Engineer/TMS(Track Management System), Northern Railway, New Delhi.
- 11.Executive Director/Telecom(Development), Railway Board New Delhi.
- 12.Executive Director(Computerization & Information System),
 Railway Board, New Delhi.
- 13. Shri Madhukar Sinha, Executive Director/Innovations.
- 14.Shri Akhilesh Mishra, Director Mechanical Engineering (Computerization & Information System).

The terms of reference of the Council are as under:

- i) To assist in developing a comprehensive ICT (Information & Communication Technology) vision for Indian Railway which is in line with the overall vision and objectives outlined for Railways;
- ii) The ICT Vision to cover Information Technology, Communication and Telecom as well as Geospatial. The current ICT implementation to be reviewed & integrated into the new vision;
- iii) To specifically integrate and cover passenger service, freight services, asset management and train operations, safety and security as well as operations/enterprise management of Railway;
- iv) To recommend an implementation strategy and structure to ensure timely complete execution of the vision.
- v) To recommend plan for effective capacity building, change management and IT governance; and
- vi) To suggest the road map to set up a technology portal which would invite innovative technological solutions for Rail Specific issues.
- (c): So far, five meetings of the Council has been held on 07.05.2015, 13.05.2015, 29.05.2015, 11.06.2015 & 02.07.2015.

(d): The Council is likely to submit its draft report by the end of August 2015.