# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 94 ANSWERED ON 03/02/2025

# **OBC** Scholarships to Students of Barabanki District (UP)

† 94. SHRI TANUJ PUNIA:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

(a) the details of universities and colleges in Barabanki district of Uttar Pradesh which have claimed OBC scholarships and the number of students who have received the said scholarships during the last three years;

(b) the number and detail of students who have not received scholarships or had their names removed from the list in the said universities and colleges during the last three years;

(c) whether the Government proposes to allocate a separate budget for providing scholarships to the said students; and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

# ANSWER

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION

#### (DR. SUKANTA MAJUMDAR)

(a) to (d): The Government is implementing different scholarships schemes for providing financial assistance to all categories of students including students belonging to the Other Backward Classes (OBC), subject to extant scheme guidelines. As per information provided by the Department of Social Justice and Empowerment (DSJE), the DSJE is implementing the PM Young Achievers Scholarship Award Scheme for Vibrant India (PM-YASASVI) to promote OBC, EBC and DNT students to pursue higher education in the country. At the beginning of each financial year, notional allocation of funds of States/UTs is made by the DSJE, from the overall annual outlay of the scheme, on the basis of population of each State/UT. The details of the funds released and number of beneficiaries during the last 3 financial years under this scheme the State Government of Uttar Pradesh. may be accessed to at https://www.education.gov.in/parl ques.

In addition, the Department of Higher Education (DHE) implements the Pradhan Mantri Uchchatar Shiksha Protsahan (PM-USP) Central Sector Scheme of Scholarship for College and University Students (CSSS), under which students pursuing higher education in India, including OBC students get scholarships as per Scheme guidelines. The colleges and universities in Barabanki district of Uttar Pradesh and number of students who received the PM-USP CSSS scholarships from these higher education institutions during the academic years 2021-22, 2022-23 and 2023-24 may be accessed at <a href="https://www.education.gov.in/parl\_ques.">https://www.education.gov.in/parl\_ques.</a>

\*\*\*\*\*

### ANNEXURE

Annexure referred to in reply of Part (a) to (d) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question no. 94 for 03-02-2025 asked by Shri Tanuj Punia, Hon'ble MP regarding OBC Scholarships to Students of Barabanki District (UP)

Funds Released and Number of Beneficiaries under Department of Social Justice and Empowerment scheme PM-YASASVI - Post-Matric Scholarship for OBC, EBC & DNT Students to the **State Government of Uttar Pradesh** 

FY 2021-22		FY 2022-23		FY 2023-24	
Funds	Number of	Funds	Number of	Funds	Number of
Released	Beneficiaries	Released	Beneficiaries	Released	Beneficiaries
(₹ lakhs)	(lakhs)	(₹ lakhs)	(lakhs)	(₹ lakhs)	(lakhs)
19908.00	1.74	21000.00	1.32	21000.00	1.83

Names of Universities and colleges and number of students in **Barabanki district of Uttar Pradesh** who have received scholarships under the PM-USP CSSS scheme during the last three academic years

AISHE Code	Name of the College/ University	Number of OBC students who received scholarships from PM-USP CSSS scheme during last three academic years
C-42304	P.L. MEMORIAL MAHAVIDYALAYA, FAIZABAD ROAD, BARABANKI	7
C-42382	SAI PG COLLEGE BELHARA ROAD FATEHPUR BARABANKI	29

AISHE Code	Name of the College/ University	Number of OBC students who received scholarships from PM-USP CSSS scheme during last three academic years
C-42426	MUNSHI RAGHUNANDAN PRASAD SARDAR PATEL P.G. COLLEGE, BARABANKI	11
C-42485	JAWAHARLAL NEHRU MEMORIAL POSTGRADUATE COLLEGE	3
C-42610	RANI SHANTI DEVI MAHAVIDYALAYA, HATAUDHA, RAMSANEHIGHAT, BARABANKI	2
C-51894	DR AWDHESH PRAKASH SHARMA SMARK MAHAVIDDAYLAY, NASIPUR	3
C-52606	SITA DEVI MAHAVIDYALAYA	1
C-52883	HAJI WARIS ALI SHAH MEMORIAL DEGREE COLLEGE	44
C-58689	Government Degree College, Hansaor, Barabanki	2
C-59981	Kanti degree college	11
C-65562	SHRI SUNDAR LAL SMARAK MAHAVIDHYALAY SHIKSHAN PRASHIKSHAN SANSTHAN AURELA SAIDANPUR BARABANKI	1