GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5169 ANSWERED ON 02/04/2025

SOLAR PANELS UNDER PM-SGMBY

5169. SHRI KRISHNA PRASAD TENNETI:

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

(a) the total number of households registered under the Pradhan Mantri-Surya Ghar Muft Bijli Yojana (PM-SGMBY) since its inception, State-wise and district-wise for Andhra Pradesh especially Bapatla Parliamentary Constituency (PC);

(b) the total number of households with installed solar panels under the Yojana, State-wise and district-wise for Andhra Pradesh especially Bapatla PC;

(c) the total target number of households to be registered under the Yojana, State-wise and district-wise for Andhra Pradesh especially Bapatla PC;

(d) whether pucca houses are required for installing solar panels under the Yojana and if so, the provisions for providing permanent houses to people with kutcha houses; and(e) the total quantity of electricity generated under the Yojana and the timeline for saturation of the scheme especially in Bapatla PC?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER

(SHRI SHRIPAD YESSO NAIK)

(a) to (e) The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy is implementing PM Surya Ghar: Muft Bijli Yojana (PMSG: MBY) in the country since February 2024. The scheme targets to achieve rooftop solar installations for one crore households in the residential sector by FY 2026-27. It is estimated to generate 1000 billion units through the solar capacity installed under the scheme.

The scheme is open for all residential consumers, with a valid consumer account number from an electric distribution utility (i.e. DISCOM) across the country and therefore state-wise allocation of targets are not envisaged in the scheme.

The solar panels can be installed on shadow free roof/terrace/balcony or on top of elevated structures or as Building Integrated Photovoltaics (BiPV) within the premises of the residential consumer of any type of house.

Under PMSG: MBY, as on 26.03.2025, a total of 48,40,100 applications have been registered on the National Portal of the scheme and 10,81,792 households have benefitted through installation of rooftop solar plants. The state-wise detail is given at **Annexure-I**. The district-wise detail for the state of Andhra Pradesh, including the districts covered under Baptala PC, is given at **Annexure-II**.

Annexure-I referred to in reply of part (a) to (e) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 5169 to be answered on 02/04/2025 regarding "Solar Panels under PM-SGMBY"

S. No.	State	Applications (Nos)	Household Benefitted (Nos)
1	Andhra Pradesh	11,67,230	18,117
2	Arunachal Pradesh	96	-
3	Assam	3,08,156	10,947
4	Bihar	72,120	5,218
5	Chhattisgarh	37,904	2,423
6	Goa	4,537	837
7	Gujarat	4,06,478	4,16,902
8	Haryana	1,68,050	22,297
9	Himachal Pradesh	6,532	1,789
10	Jharkhand	7,331	302
11	Karnataka	2,16,285	10,571
12	Kerala	1,33,000	83,430
13	Madhya Pradesh	64,004	32,093
14	Maharashtra	5,75,687	2,56,853
15	Manipur	800	221
16	Meghalaya	2,066	18
17	Mizoram	684	139
18	Nagaland	246	8
19	Odisha	97,387	3,426
20	Punjab	14,987	5,543
21	Rajasthan	2,32,877	35,640
22	Sikkim	58	4
23	Tamil Nadu	84,202	29,794
24	Telangana	47,192	14,876
25	Tripura	3,592	190
26	Uttar Pradesh	10,59,560	1,00,009
27	Uttarakhand	49,105	20,960
28	West Bengal	27,214	473
29	A&N Islands	186	20
30	Chandigarh	1,390	657
31	DNH & DD	1,646	156
32	Jammu And Kashmir	37,968	2,970
33	Ladakh	713	366
34	Lakshadweep	756	293
35	NCT of Delhi	8,570	3,476
36	Puducherry	1,491	774
	Total	48,40,100	10,81,792

State-wise Progress under PMSG: MBY as on 26.03.2025

Annexure-II referred to in reply of part (a) to (e) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 5169 to be answered on 02/04/2025 regarding "Solar Panels under PM-SGMBY"

C N	District	Application	Household Benefitted
S.No	District	(Nos)	(Nos)
1	Alluri Sitharama Raju	1,788	3
2	Anakapalli	5,334	478
3	Anantapur	47,440	600
4	Annamayya	45,686	150
5	Bapatla	69,189	639
6	Chittoor	52,921	285
7	East Godavari	11,158	1419
8	Eluru	13,184	972
9	Guntur	90,321	1866
10	Kakinada	4,271	673
11	Konaseema	3,010	218
12	Krishna	1,06,541	1345
13	Kurnool	89,714	385
14	Nandyal	88,235	184
15	Ntr	90,293	979
16	Palnadu	81,360	317
17	Parvathipuram Manyam	889	65
18	Prakasam	78,561	1026
19	Srikakulam	3,410	833
20	Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore	73,962	682
21	Sri Sathya Sai	52,672	143
22	Tirupati	54,441	415
23	Visakhapatanam	9,052	1901
24	Vizianagaram	7,811	713
25	West Godavari	17,963	1292
26	Y.S.R.	68,024	534
	Total	11,67,230	18,117

District wise Progress of PMSG: MBY in Andhra Pradesh as on 26.03.2025