GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3810 ANSWERED ON 24.03.2025

Certificates Equivalent to BA (Hindi) Degree

3810. Shri Tejasvi Surya:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the objective and salient features of the Agra Hindi University, Central Hindi Directorate and Akhil Bharat Hindi Sanstha Sangh (ABHSS);
- (b) the details of work done by these institutions so far in imparting Hindi education and providing certificates equivalent to BA (Hindi) degree; and
- (c) whether the Government has constituted a high-level committee under the chairmanship of the honourable Education Minister from 1960 to 2003 to empower 23 Hindi educational institutions (including Dakshinabharath Hindi Prachar Sabha) under the umbrella of ABHSS?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (DR. SUKANTA MAJUMDAR)

(a) to (c): The Central Hindi Directorate (CHD) was established under the Ministry of Education (erstwhile Ministry of Human Resource Development) on 01st March, 1960. The objective of the Directorate is to implement the special directions for the promotion of the Hindi language as mandated under Article 351 of the Constitution of India. The Central Hindi Directorate is implementing the important schemes with the aim to promote the spread of Hindi Language, viz. preparation of Dictionaries, Hindi Correspondence course, Publication scheme, Free distribution of Hindi books to non-Hindi speaking states, Standardization of Devnagari script and Hindi spelling, Book Exhibitions and sale; Financial assistance to voluntary Hindi Institutions for promotion of Hindi and financial assistance for the publications of manuscripts in Hindi.

The Akhil Bharat Hindi Sansthan Sangh (ABHSS) is a non-government organization established with the objective to promote and develop the Hindi language. No full-fledged Certificate/Degree is being offered by any of these institutes. No such University by the name of Agra Hindi University exists. During the period from 1960 to 2003 an education committee (Shiksha Samiti) was constituted under the chairmanship of Hon'ble Education Minister.