GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO- 3489

ANSWERED ON- 21/03/2025

VISA-ON-ARRIVAL

3489 Dr. M K VISHNU PRASAD

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state :-

- (a) the details of the foreign countries which have been offered Visa-on-Arrival by India;
- (b) the names of the countries which have offered Visa-on-Arrival facility for Indians visiting those countries abroad;
- (c) the details of foreign counties which were added to the Visa-on-Arrival to India list during the last five years; and
- (d) the details of other counties which provides Visa-on-Arrival for Indians visiting those countries during the last five years?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRI KIRTI VARDHAN SINGH)

- (a) Currently, India provides Visa-on-arrival facility to three countries i.e Japan and Republic of Korea (for certain categories only) and UAE (with certain conditions).
- (b) As on date, 39 countries provide visa-on-arrival facilities to Indian passport holders. More details are available on the website of Ministry of External Affairs [https://www.mea.gov.in/VFFIN.htm]
- (c) No country has been added to the list of countries in the last five years which have been provided with Visa on Arrival.
- (d) Formulation of policies w.r.t issuance of visas is a sovereign matter of the respective country and the matter regarding providing visa free entry/visa-on-arrival facility also depends on various factors including bilateral relations and principle of reciprocity. This data keeps on changing. Details of countries providing visa-on-arrival facility to Indian ordinary passport holders is published by Ministry of External Affairs on the Ministry's website, which is available on the following link: https://www.mea.gov.in/VFFIN.htm.
