# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

### UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3375 TO BE ANSWERED ON MARCH 20, 2025

#### **DEPLOYMENT OF ELECTRIC BUSES**

#### NO. 3375. SHRI G LAKSMINARAYANA:

Will the Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the total number of e-buses deployed during the last five years including the funds allocated, released and utilized along with their operational status, State-wise;
- (b) the number of Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) buses currently in operation and phased out during the last five years separately after e-bus deployment, State-wise;
- (c) the number of e-buses added in Andhra Pradesh during the last five years including their operational status, district-wise;
- (d) whether it is true that Andhra Pradesh is eligible for the deployment of 650 electric buses across eleven cities under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme;
- (e) if so, the details of buses deployed along with the funds allocated, released and utilized in Andhra Pradesh, city-wise; and
- (f) the Central Assistance provided to Andhra Pradesh for behind-the-meter power and civil depot infrastructure along with its utilization status?

#### **ANSWER**

# THE MINISTER OF SATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS (SHRI TOKHAN SAHU)

(a) & b) The data management system of this Ministry do not maintain the information in the manner asked for. However, this Ministry has launched "PM-eBus Sewa Scheme" on 16th August 2023, a Centrally Sponsored Scheme which aims to augment city bus operations in urban areas with Central Assistance (CA) of Rs. 20,000 crore for deploying 10,000 electric buses under the PPP model. So far, Ministry has sanctioned 7,293 e-buses for 14 States and 4 UTs (State wise sanctioned buses are provided in Annexure-I).

- (c) As informed by the government of Andhra Pradesh, a total 100 nos of 9Mtr electric buses were inducted in Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation (APSRTC) at Alipiri Depot of Tirupati District during the years 2021-22, 2022-23 under Phase-II of Faster Adoption and Manufacturing of Electric Vehicles (FAME) India Scheme. Out of these 100 e-buses, 50 e-buses are operating on Tirupati-Tirumala Ghat route and balance 50 e-buses are operating on intercity routes (kadapa-Tirupati, Madanapalli-Tirupati, Nellore-Tirupati).
- (d) Under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme, the State of Andhra Pradesh is eligible for deployment of 750 e-buses across 11 cities. The City wise details are provided in Annexure II.
- (e) & f) A total of 750 e-buses has been sanctioned to the State of Andhra Pradesh under the PM-eBus Sewa scheme. APSRTC is at the stage of issuing Letter of Award to the successful bidder (Operator). Proposals from the State of Andhra Pradesh for development of behind-the-meter power and civil depot infrastructure are yet to be received and therefore no funds have been released.

\*\*\*

### State-Wise e-buses sanctioned under the PM-eBus Sewa Scheme

State / UT	No. of Buses Sanctioned
Assam	100
Andhra Pradesh	750
Bihar	400
Chhattisgarh	240
Gujarat	450
Haryana	450
Karnataka	750
Madhya Pradesh	582
Maharashtra	1559
Meghalaya	50
Odisha	400
Punjab	347
Rajasthan	675
Uttarakhand	150
Chandigarh	100
Jammu & Kashmir	200
Ladakh	15
Puducherry	75
Total	7293

## <u>Details of E-buses sanctioned to State of Andhra Pradesh under the PM-eBus</u> <u>Sewa Scheme</u>

S. No	City	e-Buses Sanctioned
1	Visakhapatnam	100
2	Vijayawada	100
3	Guntur	100
4	Nellore	100
5	Kurnool	50
6	Kakinada	50
7	Rajahmundry	50
8	Kadapa	50
9	Amaravati	50
10	Tirupati	50
11	Anantapur	50
	Total	750