GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2708 ANSWERED ON 17.03.2025

Setting up of Higher Education Institutes

† 2708. Shri Ramvir Singh Bidhuri:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of colleges opened in the National Capital Region of Delhi under Delhi University during the last ten years; and
- (b) the details and names of places in Delhi where the Government proposes to set up new colleges?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (DR SUKANTA MAJUMDAR)

(a) & (b) University of Delhi is a statutory autonomous organization established under an Act of Parliament and governed by the Delhi University Act, 1922 and the Statutes and the Ordinances made thereunder. The University is spread across entire region of Delhi with its large number of associated institutions including 16 Faculties, 86 Departments, 91 Colleges, and 21 Centres. No new college has been established under University of Delhi in last ten years except Delhi University Western Campus at Dwaraka; Delhi University Eastern Campus at Surjmal Vihar and Veer Savarkar College at Roshanpura, Najafgarh.
