# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

#### **LOK SABHA**

## UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2665 ANSWERED ON 17.03.2025

#### **New Central Universities**

#### † 2665. Dr. Manna Lal Rawat:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the details and total number of Central Universities in the country, State-wise;
- (b) the norms and procedure for the setting up of new central universities;
- (c) whether the Government has any plans to set up Central Universities in the tribal areas and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) whether the Government is planning to set up Central University in South Rajasthan particularly in Udaipur and if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (DR SUKANTA MAJUMDAR)

(a) to (d) Under the purview of Ministry of Education, there are 48 Central Universities. State/UT- wise list of Central Universities is annexed. A Central University is established by an Act of Parliament. Central Universities are envisaged to function as pace setter institutions to provide academic leadership to other institutions in the region. This Ministry has already established three central tribal universities namely Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Madhya Pradesh; Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh and Sammakka Sarakka Central Tribal University, Telangana. There is already a Central University in Rajasthan also namely the Central University of Rajasthan. Now, the focus has been on consolidation of higher education systems by scaling up the capacity of existing institutions. Further, Education being a concurrent subject, the State Governments are also taking initiatives to provide greater access to higher education in respective states. At present, there is no proposal under consideration in this Ministry to set up a Central University in South Rajasthan.

\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE REFERRED IN THE REPLY TO THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 2665 ANSWERED ON 17.03.2025 ASKED DR. MANNA LAL RAWAT, HON'BLE MP REGARDING NEW CENTRAL UNIVERSITIES.

### STATE/UT WISE LIST OF CENTRAL UNIVERSITIES UNDER MINISTRY OF EDUCATION

S.No.	State/UT	Name of Central University
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Central University of Andhra Pradesh, Anantapuram, Andhra Pradesh
2.		Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh, Kondakarakam, Village Viziaanagram, Andhra Pradesh
3.		The National Sanskrit University, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
4.	Arunachal Pradesh	Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar, Arunachal Pradesh.
5.	Assam	Assam University, Silchar, Assam
6.		Tezpur University, Assam
7.	Bihar	Central University of South Bihar, Gaya, Bihar
8.		Mahatma Gandhi Central University, Motihari, Bihar
9.	Chhattisgarh	Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh.
10.	Delhi	Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi.
11.		Jamia Millia Islamia, Jamia Nagar, New Delhi.
12.		JawaharLal Nehru University, New Delhi.
13.		University of Delhi, Delhi
14.		The Central Sanskrit University, New Delhi
15.		Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University, New Delhi.
16.	Gujarat	Central University of Gujarat, Gandhinagar, Gujarat.
17.	Haryana	Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh, Haryana.
18.	Himachal Pradesh	Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamashala, Himachal Pradesh.
19.	Jammu &	Central University of Jammu, Samba, J&K.
20.	Kashmir	Central University of Kashmir, Srinagar, J&K.
21.	Jharkhand	Central University of Jharkhand, Ranchi, Jharkhand.
22.	Karnataka	Central University of Karnataka, Gulbarga, Karnataka.
23.	Kerala	Central University of Kerala, Kasaragod, Kerala.
24.	Ladakh	Sindhu Central University, Ladakh.
25.	Madhya	Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar, Madhya Pradesh
26.	Pradesh	The Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Amarkantak, MP
27.	Maharashtra	Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishwavidyalaya, Wardha, Maharashtra
28.	Manipur	Manipur University, Imphal, Manipur.

29.	Mizoram	Mizoram University, Aizwal, Mizoram.
30.	Meghalaya	North Eastern Hill University, Shillong, Meghalaya.
31.	Nagaland	Nagaland University, Nagaland.
32.	Odisha	Central University of Odisha, Koraput, Odisha.
33.	Pondicherry	Pondicherry University, Puducherry.
34.	Punjab	Central University of Punjab, Bathinda, Punjab.
35.	Rajasthan	Central University of Rajasthan, Rajasthan.
36.	Sikkim	Sikkim University, Gangtok, Sikkim.
37.	Tamil Nadu	Central University of Tamil Nadu, Thiruvarur, Tamil Nadu.
38.	Telangana	English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad, Telangana.
39.		Maulana Azad National Urdu University, Hyderabad, Telangana.
40.		University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad, Telangana.
41.		Samakka Sarakka Central Tribal University, Mulugu, Telangana.
42.	Tripura	Tripura University, Agartala, Tripura.
43.	Uttarakhand	Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University, Srinagar, Garhwal,
		Uttarakhand.
44.	Uttar Pradesh	Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh, U.P.
45.		Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow, U.P.
46.		Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, U.P.
47.		University of Allahabad, Prayagraj, U.P.
48.	West Bengal	Visva Bharati, Shantiniketan, West Bengal.

\*\*\*\*