## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COAL

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †2173 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12.03.2025

#### **Operational Coal Mines in Odisha**

#### †2173. Shri Ananta Nayak:

Will the Minister of **Coal** be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of coal mines operational in Odisha and their contribution to India's total coal production;
- (b) the details of revenue earned from coal mining in the State and the increase in revenue growth during the last five years;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to develop new mines to increase coal production in Odisha; and
- (d) if so, the details and the present status thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF COAL AND MINES (SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

(a): The total number of operational producing Coal Mine in the State of Odisha is 24 as on 31.3.2024. Raw Coal production from Odisha with their contribution to India's total production during last 5 years is as follows:

Raw coal production (in Million Tonnes(MT))					
Year	Odisha(MT)	India(MT)	Odisha share (%)		
2019-20	143.016	730.874	19.57		
2020-21	154.151	716.083	21.53		
2021-22	185.069	778.21	23.78		
2022-23	218.981	893.191	24.52		
2023-24	239.402	997.826	23.99		
Total	940.619	4116.184	22.85%		

(b): The details of revenue earned from Coal mining in the State of Odisha during the last five years is given below-

			( in ₹ Crores)
Year	<b>Amount of Royalty Paid</b>	Amount of DMF Paid	Amount of NMET Paid
2019-20	2139.45	560.25	37.88
2020-21	1519.31	499.98	34.11
2021-22	2704.31	756.21	52.26
2022-23	4137.88	1163.29	80.55
2023-24	3881.79	1010.79	71.13

(c) & (d): Coal India Limited (CIL) has planned to increase coal production in the State of Odisha and has identified new coal blocks in the State of Odisha as per details given in Annexure A. Apart from coal blocks identified by CIL, the details of the coal blocks allocated in the State of Odisha are given below:

Sl. No.	Name of the Coal Mine	Peak Rated Capacity (PRC) [in Million Tonne (MT)]	<b>Current Status</b>
1	Dulanga	7	Operational
2 & 3	Manoharpur & Manoharpur Dipside	16	Operational
4	Naini	10	Operational
5	Talabira I	3	Operational
6 & 7	Utkal D & E	4	Operational
8	Talabira II & III	20	Operational
9	Jamkhani	2.6	Operational
10	Utkal C	3.37	Operational
11 & 12	Ghogharpalli & Its Dip Extension	20	Non-Operational
13	Baitarni West	15	Non-Operational
14	Mandakini	7.5	Non-Operational
15	Radhikapur (West)	6	Non-Operational
16	Kurloi A (North)	8	Non-Operational
17	Utkal A	25	Non-Operational
18	Bankhui	Partially Explored	Non-Operational
19 & 20	Utkal B1 & Utkal B2	8	Non-Operational
21	Alaknanda	Partially Explored	Non-Operational
22	Burapahar	6	Non-Operational
23	Chendipada (Revised)	Partially Explored	Non-Operational
24	Sakhigopal – B Kankili	Partially Explored	Non-Operational
25	Bijahan	5.26	Non-Operational
26	Meenakshi West	Partially Explored	Non-Operational
27	Kudanali Lubri	Partially Explored	Non-Operational
28	Machhakata (Revised)	30	Non-Operational
29	Sakhigopal-B Kakurhi	Partially Explored	Non-Operational
30	Meenakshi	12	Non-Operational
31 & 32	Rampia and Dipside of Rampia	15	Non-Operational
33	New Patrapara South	12	
34	Bartap (Revised)	Partially Explored	

### Annexure-A

Coal Blocks Identified	Name of the Project	Peak Rated Capacity (PRC)
		[in Million Tonne (MT)]
Utkal-A	Subhadra OCP	25
West of Gopalprasad west		
Balabhadra	Balbhadra OCP	10
Chaturdhara	Basundhara west Extn.	7
Part of Bhubaneswari	Bhubaneswari Expansion OCP	50
Arakhapal-A		
Sakhigopal-A		
Dip side of Kulda	Integrated Kulda Garjanbahal OCP	40
Dip side of Garjanbahal	1	

\*\*\*\*