### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH & EDUCATION

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2054 TO BE ANSWERED ON 11<sup>TH</sup> MARCH, 2025

#### **ROLE OF SEED RESEARCH CENTRES**

#### 2054. DR. NISHIKANT DUBEY:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether seed research centres play a pivotal role in providing quality produce to farmers and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the details of the total number of seed research centres established so far in the country, State-wise; and
- (c) whether the Government proposes to set up new seed research centres, if so, the details thereof, State-wise including the State of Jharkhand and if not, the reasons therefor?

#### ANSWER

### THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण राज्य मंत्री (SHRI BHAGIRATH CHOUDHARY)

(a) & (b): Seed Research Centres established under Institutes of Indian Council of Agricultural Research; and State and Central Agricultural Universities under All India Coordinated Research Project (AICRP) on Seed (Crops) and coordinated by ICAR-National Institute of Seed Science and Technology, Mau (Uttar Pradesh), play an important role by dissemination of new agricultural technologies to the farmers including quality seed of biofortified as well as climate resilient high yielding varieties of different crops. These centres are involved in the maintenance of genetic purity of varieties through nucleus seed production, production of breeder and quality seed; and carrying out seed technology research to address the contemporary issues in seed realm at national and regional levels.

Total 68 seed research/ breeder and quality seed production centres are in operation across the country, the details are given at **Annexure**.

In addition, National Seed Research and Training Centre (NSRTC), Varanasi (UP), Department of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare, also works for ensuring seed quality regulation through testing of seed samples and organizing national trainings, workshops, seminars etc. on various seed related activities for the officers/officials of the public as well as private sector seed sector across the country.

(c): In continuation of the approval of EFC 2021-26 of AICRP on Seed (Crops), three new seed research and production centres viz., (i) ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), Hazaribagh (Jharkhand); (ii) Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agricultural University (RLBCAU), Jhansi (Uttar Pradesh); and (iii) Banda University of Agriculture & Technology (BUAT), Banda (Uttar Pradesh) have been established to strengthen seed research activities and enhance quality seed production in their respective states.

\*\*\*\*\*

## [Part (a) and (b) of Lok Sabha USQ No. 2054 dated 11TH MARCH, 2025] Seed Research/ Production Centres under AICRP on Seed (Crops)

	1	Centres under AICRP on Seed (Crops)
Sr.	<u>State</u>	<u>Centre</u>
<b>No.</b>	Uttar Pradesh	ICAR-Indian Institute of Seed Science, Mau <sup>\$</sup> (Coordinating Institute) Acharya Narendra Dev University of Agriculture and Technology, Faizabad <sup>#\$</sup> ; Chandra Shekar Azad University of Agriculture and Technology, Kanpur <sup>#\$</sup> ; Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel University of Agriculture and Technology, Meerut <sup>\$</sup> ; Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi <sup>\$</sup> ; Banda University of Agriculture & Technology, Banda <sup>\$</sup> ; ICAR-Indian Grassland and Fodder Research Institute, Jhansi <sup>\$</sup> ; ICAR-Indian Institute Sugarcane Research, Lucknow <sup>\$</sup> ; ICAR-Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur <sup>\$</sup> ; Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agricultural University, Jhansi <sup>\$</sup>
2	Assam	Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat#\$
3	Andhra Pradesh	Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University, Guntur <sup>\$</sup>
4	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	ICAR-Central Island Agricultural Research Institute, Port Blair\$
5	Bihar	Bihar Agricultural University, Sabour <sup>\$</sup> ; Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University, Pusa <sup>#\$</sup>
6	Chhattisgarh	Indira Gandhi Krishi Visvavidhylaya, Raipur\$
7	Delhi	ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi#\$
8	Goa	ICAR-Central Coastal Agricultural Research Institute, Goa\$
9	Gujarat	Anand Agricultural University, Anand**; Sardarkrishinagar Dantiwada Agricultural University, SK Nagar*; Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari*; Junagadh Agricultural University, Junagadh**; ICAR-Indian Institute of Groundnut Research, Junagadh*
10	Haryana	CCS Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar#\$; ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research, Karnal\$
11	Himachal Pradesh	CSK Himachal Pradesh Krishi Viswavidhyalaya, Palampur#\$
12	Jammu & Kashmir	Shere-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Science and Technology, Srinagar <sup>#\$</sup> ; Shere-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Science and Technology, Jammu <sup>\$</sup>
13	Jharkhand	Birsa Agricultural University, Ranchi <sup>\$</sup> ; ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, Jharkhand <sup>\$</sup>
14	Karnataka	University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore#\$; University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad#\$; University of Agricultural Sciences, Raichur\$; University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimogga\$

15	Kerala	Kerala Agricultural University, Trissur <sup>\$</sup>
16	Madhya Pradesh	Jawahar Lal Nehru Krishi ViswaVidhyalaya, Jabalpur**; Rajmata Vijayaraje Scindia Krishi Viswa Vidhyalaya, Gwalior*; ICAR-India Institute of Soybean Research, Indore*
17	Maharashtra	Vasantrao Naik Marathwada Krishi Vidyapeeth ,Parbhani <sup>#\$</sup> ; Mahatama Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Rahuri <sup>#\$</sup> ; Punabrao Deshmukh Krishi Vidyapeeth, Akola <sup>#\$</sup> ; Dr. Balasaheb Sawant Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth, Dapoli <sup>\$</sup> ; Vasantdada Sugar Institute (VSI), Pune <sup>\$</sup> ; ICAR Central Institute of Cotton Research, Nagpur <sup>\$</sup>
18	Manipur	Central Agricultural University, Imphal <sup>\$</sup>
19	Meghalaya	ICAR Research Complex for NEH Region, Barapani\$
20	Odisha	Odisha University of Agriculture and Technology, Bhubaneswar <sup>#\$</sup> ; ICAR-National Rice Research Institute, Cuttack <sup>\$</sup>
21	Punjab	Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana <sup>#\$</sup> ; ICAR-Indian Institute of Maize Research, Ludhiana <sup>\$</sup>
22	Puducherry	Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru College of Agriculture & Research Institute, Karaikal**
23	Rajasthan	Agricultural University Kota\$; Swami Keshwanand Rajasthan Agricultural University, Bikaner\$; Shree Karan Narendra Agricultural University, Jobner#; Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur\$; ICAR- Central Arid Zone Research Institute, Jodhpur#\$; ICAR- Directorate of Rapeseed and Mustard Research, Bharatpur\$
24	Telangana	Professor Jayashankar Telangana State Agricultural University, Hyderabad <sup>#\$</sup> ; ICAR-Indian Institute of Rice Research, Hyderabad <sup>\$</sup> ; ICAR-Indian Institute of Millets Research, Hyderabad <sup>\$</sup> ; ICAR-Indian Institute of Oilseeds Research, Hyderabad <sup>\$</sup>
25	Tamil Nadu	Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore#\$; ICAR-Sugarcane Breeding Institute, Coimbatore\$
26	Uttarakhand	GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar**; ICAR- Vivekanand Parvatiya Krishi Anusandhan Sansthan, Almora*
27	West Bengal	Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidhyalaya, Nadia <sup>\$</sup> ; Uttar Banga Krishi Viswavidhyalaya, Pundibari <sup>\$</sup> ; ICAR-Central Research Institute for Jute and Allied Fibres, Barrackpore <sup>\$</sup>

<sup>\$</sup> Breeder/ Quality Seed Production (QSP) centre; # Seed Technology Research (STR) centre