## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE

## LOK SABHA

#### **UNSTARRED QUESTION NUMBER 160** TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.02.2025

## BENEFITS ACCORDED TO CLASSICAL LANGUAGE

## **160. MS MAHUA MOITRA:**

Will the Minister of **CULTURE** be pleased to state:

(a) the details of benefits accorded to "classical languages";

(b) the details of list of said benefit that has been already implemented and under implementation for Bengali language which has been recently declared as "classical language"; and

(c) the details of the list of benefits accorded to other "classical languages" as well, language-wise?

## ANSWER

#### MINISTER OF CULTURE AND TOURISM

# (GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

(a) to (c) The support available to the languages notified as classical languages includeawards in Classical Languages, centres of excellence for studies in classical languages, and creation of professional chairs in central universities.

The Government of India had earlier notified the following languages as Classical Languages:

- Tamil, 2004
- Sanskrit, 2005
- Telugu, 2008
- Kannada, 2008
- Malayalam, 2013
- Odia, 2014

The Ministry of Education, through the Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL), Mysuru, works towards the promotion and development of all Indian languages, including Classical Languages. Various institutions and Centres of Excellence have been established to support research, documentation, and scholarly activities related to these languages:

• **Tamil:** The Central Institute of Classical Tamil (CICT), Chennai, established in 2008, is dedicated to the promotion and development of Classical Tamil.

- Sanskrit: The Government of India promotes Sanskrit through three Central Universities—Central Sanskrit University (New Delhi), Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University (New Delhi), and National Sanskrit University (Tirupati). These universities were granted Central University status in 2020 to strengthen Sanskrit education and research.
- **Telugu:** The Centre of Excellence for Studies under the in Classical Telugu functions at Nellore, Andhra Pradesh.
- Kannada: The Centre of Excellence for Studies in Classical Kannada is located in Mysuru, Karnataka.
- **Malayalam:** The Centre of Excellence for Studies in Classical Malayalam operates from Tirur, Malappuram, Kerala.
- Odia: The Centre of Excellence for Studies in Classical Odia is based in Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

Furthermore, very recently, The Government notified 5 more languages such as Marathi, Pali, Prakrit, Assamese, and Bengali as Classical Languages vide Gazette Notification dated 04.10.2024.

\*\*\*\*