GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.145

ANSWERED ON-03.02.2025

PUBLISHING KEEZHADI EXCAVATION REPORTS

145. SMT. KANIMOZHI KARUNANIDHI:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the time by which the Keezhadi Phase I and Phase II excavation reports would be published;
- (b) the reasons for the delay in publishing of reports of excavations that were done between 2014 and 2016; and
- (c) the details of the archaeological excavations done by the Union government across the country during the last ten years along with the date on which the reports of such excavations were published?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF CULTURE AND TOURISM (SHRI GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

- (a) and (b) Excavations unearth a variety of remains of different materials and periods which require detailed scientific study and analysis in different laboratories which often take time. Report on the excavations conducted between 2014, and 2016 at Keezhadi was submitted in 2023. For publication of report, due process involving thorough examination by experts besides the process laid down is followed.
- (c) The details of the archaeological excavations done by the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) across the country during the last ten years are given in **Annexure**.

Excavations were conducted at 82 sites by different field offices of ASI. Some of these excavations are taken up on a large scale and span many years. Periodical reports are submitted soon after the completion of a season's work. Final report on excavations at Saluvankuppam, Suabarei, Burzohom, Paithan, Kalibangan, Lalitgiri, Dhalewan, Adam, and Hulas, where detailed study and scientific analysis of excavated materials were completed, have been published during last ten years.

--

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 145 FOR 03.02.2025.

STATE-WISE DETAILS OF EXCAVATIONS CARRIED OUT BY ASI FROM 2015-16 to 2024-25:

Sl.	State/UT	Year	Name of Site
No.			
1.	Andhra Pradesh	2018-19 and 2019-20	Gottiprolu, Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore
2.	Assam	2022-23	Gorakshana Mound, Gaurisagar,
			Sibsagar
3.	Bihar	2016-17	Rukministhan, Nalanda
		2016-17	Papur, Siwan
		2016-17 to 2018-19	Uren, Lakhisarai
		2018-19	Kesariya, East Champaran
		2021-22	Kurisarai, Gaya
		2023-24	Buddhist stupa, Kesariya, East
			Champaran
		2023-24	Jangalisthan ka Tila, Bhagalpur
		2023-24	Ajatshatru ka Qila Maidan/ New
			Rajgriha
4.	Delhi	2017-18, 2019-20, and	Purana Qila, Delhi
		2022-23	
5.	Goa	2022-23 and 2023-24	St. Augustine Tower, Old Goa
6.	Gujarat	2015-16 to 2021-22	Vadnagar, Mehsana
		2018-19	Taranga, Mehsana
		2018-19	Gunja, Mehsana
		2021-22 to 2022-23	Vihar, Gandhinagar
		2023-24	Sarwal, Patan
7.	Haryana	2018-19 and	Rakhigarhi
		2020-21 to 2024-25	m 126 1 6'
		2018-19 to 2020-21	Thed Mound, Sirsa
		2022-23 and 2023-24	Kaserua Khera, Palwal
		2023-24 and 2024-25	Kushan Stupa known as Jarasandha
0	Т	2020 21	Ka Qila, Asandh
8.	Jammu and Kashmir	2020-21	Tibba Taliana, Jinder Mehlu Village
	Kasiiiiii	2024-25	Karti-Wdre
9.	Jharkhand	2019-20 to 2021-22	
٦.	JIIai Kiiaiiu	2019-20 to 2021-22	Sitagarha, Hazaribagh Obra, Chatra
		2023-24	Palace and temple complex at
		2023-2 7	Navratangarh, Gumla
10.	Karnataka	2024-25	Brahmagiri, Chitradurga
10.	Talliama	2020-21	Halebidu, Hassan
		2021-22, 2022-23 and	Pan Supari Bazar, Kamalapura
		2021-22, 2022-23 and 2024-25	Tan Sapan Dazai, Ixamarapura
		_0_10	

11.	Kerala	2023-24	Pattanam, Ernakulam
		2016-17	Thiruvanchikulum, Thrissur
12.	Ladakh	2015-16	Choskor, Gangles
		2015-16	Saser, Nubra, Indian Side of Karakoram, Leh
13.	Madhya Pradesh	2019-20 and 2020-21	Eran, Sagar
		2020-21 and 2021-22	Tewar, Jabalpur
		2022-23	Group of temples Bateswar, Morena
		2022-23	Man Singh Palace, Gwalior Fort, Gwalior
		2023-24	Bhimbetka, Raisen
		2023-24	Nachna Kuthara, Panna
14.	Maharashtra	2017-18	Raigad fort, Raigad
		2017-18	Rithi-Rajna, Nagpur
		2017-18 and 2018-19	Phubgaon, Amaravati
		2019-20 and 2020-21	Mahurjhari, Nagpur
		2021-22 to 2023-24	Bibi-Ka-Maqbara, Aurangabad
		2023-24	Kohla, Nagpur
15.	Mizoram	2017-18 and 2018-19	Vangchhia
16.	Odisha	2015-16	Suabarei, Puri
		2017-18	Jharhiamba, Angul
		2017-18	Bharati Huda, Cuttack
		2018-19	Asurgarh, Kalahandi
		2019-20 and 2020-21	Lagundi Hills, Jajpur
		2021-22	Sari Deul, Bhubaneswar
		2021-22 to 2023-24	Nara Huda, Khurda
		2022-23	Parabhadi (Sukhuapada), Cuttack
		2023-24	Barabati Fort, Cuttack
		2024-25	Ratnagiri
17.	Rajasthan	2015-16 and 2016-17	Binjore
		2019-20 and 2020-21	Kalibanga, Hanumangarh
		2022-23	Ojiyana, Bhilwara
		2022-23	Bewan, Neem ka Thana
		2023-24	Bahaj, Deeg
18	Tamil Nadu	2015-16 and 2016-17	Keeladi, Sivaganga
		2017-18	Kodumanal, Erode
		2021-22 and 2022-23	Adichanallur and cluster of sites, Thoothukudi
		2022-23 and 2023-24	Vadakupattu, Kanchipuram
		2024-25	Chengalpattu
		2024-25	Kodumbalur
19.	Telangana	2018-19	Janampet, Badrari Kothagudam
20.	Uttar Pradesh	2015-16	Ramtal, Mathura
		2016-17	Harinagar, Bijnor
		2016-17	Sakatpur, Saharanpur
		2017-18	Shakra Tila, Meerut

		2017-18	Barnawa
		2017-18 and 2018-19	Sinauli
		2018-19	Erich
		2021-22	(Ultakhera) Hastinapur
		2021-22	Barnauli ki Dhai, Mathura
		2024-25	Kachhwa, Hamirpur
		2024-25	Tilwara Sakin
21.	West Bengal	2022-23	Dum Dum Mound, North 24
			Parganas
		2022-23	Bharatpur, Purba Bardhaman
		2024-25	Bhadiswar, Birbhum
