GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION AND LITERACY

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO - 1121 ANSWERED ON – 10/02/2025

PM SHRI Schools in Karnataka

1121. Shri G Kumar Naik:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of schools selected under the PM Schools for Rising India (PM SHRI) Scheme in Karnataka, district-wise;
- (b) the mechanism in place to monitor the implementation and progress of the scheme, particularly in improving infrastructure and learning outcomes;
- (c) the measurable outcomes achieved so far under the scheme, including its impact on reducing school dropout rate and improving foundational literacy and numeracy skills; and
- (d) whether any mid-term review or impact assessments has been conducted by the Government in this regard, if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION (SHRI JAYANT CHAUDHARY)

- (a): A total of 555 PM SHRI schools have been selected in the State of Karnataka. The district-wise number of PM SHRI schools in the State of Karnataka is attached as **Annexure-I.** The details of 555 PM SHRI schools may be accessed on the website of PM SHRI Scheme at the link: https://pmshri.education.gov.in/state.
- (b): Under the PM SHRI scheme, there is a provision of PRABANDH (Project Appraisal, Budgeting, Achievements and Data Handling System) portal and SQAF (School Quality Assessment Framework) to monitor the implementation and progress of the scheme, including the improvement in infrastructure and learning outcomes.

The PRABANDH portal of the PM SHRI Scheme has a provision for updating progress of infrastructure from time to time by States/UTs/KVS/NVS. Further, SQAF has been developed as per recommendations of National Education Policy (NEP), 2020, indicating the level of proficiency to be achieved by each PM SHRI school. SQAF is divided into six main domains, based on the six pillars of the PM SHRI Scheme, aligned with NEP 2020: Curriculum, Pedagogy, and Assessment; Access and Infrastructure; Human Resources and School Leadership; Inclusive Practices and Gender Equity; Management, Monitoring, and Governance and Beneficiary Satisfaction.

- (c): The PM SHRI scheme includes several initiatives to reduce dropout rates and improve foundational literacy and numeracy. PM SHRI schools create a joyful learning environment by integrating art, sports, and toy-based pedagogies. There are provisions for Teaching-learning materials (TLM), including toys, puzzles, storybooks, and art and craft resources, BaLA features, child-friendly furniture, and outdoor play materials to create engaging learning spaces. There are provisions for strengthening educational infrastructure through establishing Atal tinkering labs, science labs, ICT labs, digital libraries, vocational labs, and sports facilities, etc. ensuring safe and stimulating learning environment for students. It also has a provision for child tracking mechanisms to monitor attendance and reduce dropout rates.
- (d): A School Quality Assessment Framework (SQAF) has been developed as per recommendations of National Education Policy (NEP), 2020, indicating the level of proficiency to be achieved by each PM SHRI school. SQAF is divided into six main domains, based on the six pillars of the PM SHRI Scheme, aligned with NEP 2020. Regular monitoring of the same is done by States/UTs and the Centre.

Annexure-I

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1121 ANSWERED ON 10.02.2025 ASKED BY SHRI G KUMAR NAIK HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING "PM SHRI SCHOOLS IN KARNATAKA"

The district wise number of PM SHRI schools selected in Karnataka is as follows:

Sl. No.	Name of District	Number of PM SHRI schools
1	BAGALKOTE	31
2	BALLARI	19
3	BELAGAVI	53
4	BENGALURU RURAL	9
5	BENGALURU URBAN	15
6	BIDAR	11
7	CHAMARAJANAGARA	12
8	CHIKKABALLAPURA	15
9	CHIKKAMAGALURU	16
10	CHITRADURGA	14
11	DAKSHINA KANNADA	20
12	DAVANGERE	12
13	DHARWAD	19
14	GADAG	20
15	HASSAN	17
16	HAVERI	23
17	KALABURAGI	20
18	KODAGU	7
19	KOLAR	10
20	KOPPAL	16
21	MANDYA	12
22	MYSURU	20
23	RAICHUR	18
24	RAMANAGARA	11
25	SHIVAMOGGA	14
26	TUMAKURU	20
27	UDUPI	13
28	UTTARA KANNADA	25
29	VIJAYANAGAR	13
30	VIJAYAPURA	32
31	YADGIR	18
Grand Total		555