GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS (DEPARTMENT OF SPORTS)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 987 ANSWERED ON 02.12.2024

Sports Centres across the Country

987. SHRI PRADEEP PUROHIT: DR. HEMANT VISHNU SAVARA:

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has taken any steps to establish sports centres across the country for the development of athletes, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the details of the initiatives taken by the Government to establish sports centres including excellence centres across the country including Odisha for athletes' development; and
- (c) the details of the sports centres established and to be established in Maharashtra State and tribal dominated district Palghar?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS (DR MANSUKH MANDAVIYA)

(a) to (c): Yes Sir. The Government, through the Sports Authority of India (SAI), has established 186 SAI Centres (including 8 Sports Centres in the State of Odisha and 17 Sports Centres in the State of Maharashtra) across the country including National Centres of Excellence (NCOEs), SAI Training Centres (STCs), Extension Centres of STCs, National Sports Talent Contest (NSTC) scheme etc. which are functional for implementing Sports Promotional Schemes of SAI. The State-wise details of the same are provided at Annexure. Moreover, the details of Sports Centers under the Khelo India Scheme, are available at URL: https://dashboard.kheloindia.gov.in/khelo-india-center-dashboard.

Further, no proposal has been received for establishment of new sports Centre in the State of Maharashtra. ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (c) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 987 FOR 02.12.2024 ASKED BY SHRI PRADEEP PUROHIT AND DR. HEMANT VISHNU SAVARA REGARDING "SPORTS CENTRES ACROSS THE COUNTRY".

STATEWISE NUMBER OF CENTERS OF SAI SCHEMES 2024-2025

	State	No. of Centres						
SN					NSTC			
		NCOE	STC	Ext. Centres	Reg. Sch.	IGMA	Akharas	TOTAL
1	Andhra Pradesh	0	3	0	0	0	0	3
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	1	0	0	0	0	2
3	Assam	1	4	4	1	1	1	12
4	Bihar	0	3	0	0	0	0	3
5	Chhattisgarh	0	2	0	0	0	0	2
6	Goa	0	2	0	0	0	0	2
7	Gujarat	1	0	1	0	0	0	2
8	Haryana	2	3	0	0	0	5	10
9	Himachal Pradesh	2	1	2	0	0	0	5
10	Jharkhand	0	2	1	0	1	0	4
11	Karnataka	1	3	0	0	0	0	4
12	Kerala	2	4	0	0	1	0	7
13	Madhya Pradesh	1	3	2	1	0	3	10
14	Maharashtra	2	0	0	0	1	14	17
15	Manipur	1	2	0	1	2	0	6
16	Meghalaya	0	1	0	0	0	0	1
17	Mizoram	0	1	0	0	0	0	1
18	Nagaland	0	1	0	0	0	0	1
19	Odisha	1	3	2	1	0	1	8
20	Punjab	1	4	2	0	1	3	11
21	Rajasthan	0	3	7	2	0	8	20
22	Sikkim	0	1	0	0	0	0	1
23	Tamil Nadu	0	3	0	0	2	0	5
24	Telangana	0	1	0	0	0	0	1
25	Tripura	0	1	0	1	0	0	2
26	Uttar Pradesh	1	4	1	1	0	7	14
27	Uttarakhand	0	1	0	0	0	0	1
28	West Bengal	2	4	2	0	0	0	8
29	Andaman & Nicobar Islands (UT)	0	2	0	0	0	0	2
30	Chandigarh (UT)	1	0	0	1	0	0	2
31	Delhi (UT)	4	1	0	0	0	8	13
32	Jammu & Kashmir (UT)	0	1	1	0	0	0	2
33	Ladakh (UT)	0	1	0	0	0	0	1
34	Lakshadweep (UT)	0	1	0	0	0	0	1
35	Puducherry (UT)	0	2	0	0	0	0	2
	GRAND TOTAL:	24	69	25	9	9	50	186