## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3891 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 18.12.2024)

#### AKASHVANI AND DOORDARSHAN

3891. Dr. HEMANT VISHNU SAVARA

Will the Minister of Information and Broadcasting be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is working towards its vision to have at least one community radio in every district and if so, the details thereof particularly for Palghar district of Maharashtra;
- (b) whether the Government has prescribed any criteria to set up such stations in the district and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether any relay stations of Akashvani and Doordarshan have been set up during the last three years and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) whether any relay stations of Akashvani and Doordarshan are functional in Maharashtra and if so, the details thereof, district -wise?

### **ANSWER**

# THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING AND PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (Dr. L. MURUGAN)

- (a) & (b) Under the Central Sector scheme titled "Supporting Community Radio Movement in India", several initiatives have been taken to increase the number of Community Radio Stations (CRSs), in the Country. Currently, there are a total of 522 commissioned Community Radios in 308 districts across India, among which, there are 58 Community Radios in 26 districts of Maharashtra. There is no commissioned CRS in the district of Palghar. Due to recent initiatives taken by the Government in the last 10 years, there has been almost 300 percent increase in the number of CRSs. The eligibility criteria and the list of CRS is available on the website of Ministry at <a href="https://mib.gov.in/broadcasting/community-radio-stations">https://mib.gov.in/broadcasting/community-radio-stations</a>.
- (c) and (d) During the last three years, 104 relay stations of Akashvani and Doordarshan have been set up across the country, including 7 relay stations in Maharashtra. Presently, 15 relay stations are functional in the districts of Maharashtra, out of which three are in Gadchiroli district and one each in Amravati, Chandrapur, Buldhana, Gondia, Hingoli, Jalna, Nashik, Nandurbar, Thane, Ahmednagar, Wardha and Washim districts.

\*\*\*\*\*