GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3602 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 17th DECEMBER. 2024

DEMANDS RAISED BY FARMER UNIONS

3602. SMT. HARSIMRAT KAUR BADAL:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) the Government plan to address demands raised by farmer unions and promises made by the Government to the farmers in 2021 in lieu of suspension of their agitation against three farm laws;
- (b) the details of the measures the Government aims to adopt to move forward towards ensuring farmer participation within policy-making;
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to resolve differences and let the farming community have faith in the Government's policies; and
- (d) whether the Government plan to ensure participation of farmers in the Guaranteed MSP Committee, if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE

कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण राज्य मंत्री (SHRI RAMNATH THAKUR)

(a) to (d): Based on the demands of farmer unions, the 3 farm laws, namely - (i) the Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Act, 2020; (ii) the Farmers' Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Act, 2020; and (iii) the Essential Commodities (Amendment) Act, 2020 were repealed vide the Farm Laws Repeal Act, 2021 (No. 40 of 2021) vide notification dated 30th November, 2021.

The Government constituted a committee vide notification dated 12.07.2022, consisting of representatives of farmers, eminent agricultural economists and scientists, and senior officers of the Central Government. The Committee is to make recommendations to make MSP more effective and transparent; to promote natural farming; and crop diversification keeping in mind the changing needs of the country. The meetings of the Committee are being held on a regular basis to deliberate on the subject matters assigned to it.

The Committee members include 3 members from Sanyukta Kisan Morcha, 5 members from other farmer organizations and also representative of farmers' cooperatives/groups.
