GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3447 ANSWERED ON-16.12.2024

KEEZHADI EXCAVATION REPORTS

3447. DR. RANI SRIKUMAR:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

(a) the time by which the Keezhadi Phase-I and Phase-II excavation reports would be published and released for public;

(b) the details of the reasons for the delay in publishing of reports of excavations that were done in the year of 2015 and 2016; and

(c) the details of the archaeological excavations done by the Government across the country during the last ten years and the date on which the reports of such excavations were published?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF CULTURE AND TOURISM (SHRI GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

(a) and (b) Excavations unearth a variety of remains of different materials and periods which require detailed scientific study and analysis in different laboratories which often takes time. Report on the excavations conducted in 2015 and 2016 at Keezhadi was submitted last year. For publication of report, due process involving thorough examination by experts besides the process laid down by the Government is followed.

(c)The details of the archaeological excavations done by the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) across the country during the last ten years are given in **Annexure**.

Excavations were conducted at 70 sites by different field offices of ASI. Some of these excavations are taken up on a large scale and span many years. Periodical reports are submitted soon after the completion of a season's work. Final report on excavations at Saluvankuppam, Suabarei, Burzohom, Paithan, Kalibangan, Lalitgiri, Dhalewan, Adam, and Hulas, where detailed study and scientific analysis of excavated materials were completed, have been published during this period.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3447 FOR 16.12.2024.

STATE-WISE DETAILS OF EXCAVATIONS CARRIED OUT BY ASI FROM 2014-15 to 2023-24:

Sl.	State/UT	Year	Name of Site
No.			
1.	Andhra Pradesh	2018-19 and 2019-20	Gottiprolu, Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore
2.	Assam	2022-23	Gorakshana Mound, Gaurisagar,
			Sibsagar
3.	Bihar	2016-17	Rukministhan, Nalanda
		2016-17	Papur, Siwan
		2016-17 to 2018-19	Uren, Lakhisarai
		2018-19	Kesariya, East Champaran
		2021-22	Kurisarai, Gaya
		2023-24	Buddhist stupa, Kesariya, East Champaran
		2023-24	Jangalisthan ka Tila, Bhagalpur
		2023-24	Ajatshatru ka Qila Maidan/ New
		2023 21	Rajgriha
4.	Delhi	2017-18, 2019-20, and	Purana Qila, Delhi
		2022-23	
5.	Goa	2022-23 and 2023-24	St. Augustine Tower, Old Goa
6.	Gujarat	2014-15 to 2021-22	Vadnagar, Mehsana
		2018-19	Taranga, Mehsana
		2018-19	Gunja, Mehsana
		2021-22 to 2022-23	Vihar, Gandhinagar
		2023-24	Sarwal, Patan
7.	Haryana	2018-19 and	Rakhigarhi
		2020-21 to 2022-23	C C
		2018-19 to 2020-21	Thed Mound, Sirsa
		2022-23 and 2023-24	Kaserua Khera, Palwal
		2023-24	Kushan Stupa known as Jarasandha
			Ka Qila, Asandh
8.	Jammu and	2020-21	Tibba Taliana, Jinder Mehlu
	Kashmir		Village
9.	Jhakhand	2019-20 to 2021-22	Sitagarha, Hazaribagh
		2022-23	Obra, Chatra
		2023-24	Palace and temple complex at
			Navratangarh, Gumla
10.	Karnataka	2020-21	Halebidu, Hassan
		2021-22 and 2022-23	Pan Supari Bazar, Kamalapura
11.	Kerala	2023-24	Pattanam, Ernakulam
12.	Ladakh	2015-16	Choskor, Gangles
		2015-16	Saser, Nubra, Indian Side of
			Karakoram, Leh
13.	Madhya Pradesh	2019-20 and 2020-21	Eran, Sagar

		2020-21 and 2021-22	Tewar, Jabalpur
		2020-21 and 2021-22 2022-23	Group of temples Bateswar,
		2022-23	Morena
		2022-23	Man Singh Palace, Gwalior Fort,
			Gwalior
		2023-24	Bhimbetka, Raisen
		2023-24	Nachna Kuthara, Panna
14.	Maharashtra	2014-15	Kayar, Yavatmal
		2017-18	Riti-Rajna, Nagpur
		2017-18	Raigad Fort, Raigarh
		2018-19	Phubgaon, Amaravati
		2019-20 and 2020-21	Mahurjhari, Nagpur
		2021-22 to 2023-24	Bibi-Ka-Maqbara, Aurangabad
15.	Mizoram	2017-18 and 2018-19	Vangchhia
16.	Odisha	2014-15 and 2015-16	Suabarei, Puri
		2017-18	Jharhiamba, Angul
		2017-18	Bharati Huda, Cuttack
		2018-19	Asurgarh, Kalahandi
		2019-20 and 2020-21	Lagundi Hills, Jajpur
		2021-22	Sari Deul, Bhubaneswar
		2021-22 to 2023-24	Nara Huda, Khurda
		2022-23	Parabhadi (Sukhuapada), Cuttack
		2023-24	Barabati Fort, Cuttack
17.	Rajasthan	2014-15 to 2016-17	Binjore
		2019-20 and 2020-21	Kalibanga, Hanumangarh
		2022-23	Ojiyana, Bhilwara
		2022-23	Bewan, Neem ka Thana
		2023-24	Bahaj, Deeg
18	Tamil Nadu	2014-15 to 2016-17	Keeladi, Sivaganga
		2017-18	Kodumanal, Erode
		2021-22 and 2022-23	Adichanallur and cluster of sites,
			Thoothukudi
10		2022-23 and 2023-24	Vadakupattu, Kanchipuram
19	Telangana	2018-19	Janampet, Badrari Kothagudam
20.	Uttar Pradesh	2014-15	In and around Shahi Fort, Jaunpur,
		2017 10	Jaunpur
		2017-18	Barnawa
		2017-18 and 2018-19	Sinauli
		2018-19	Erich
		2021-22	(Ultakhera) Hastinapur
01		2021-22	Barnauli ki Dhai, Mathura
21.	West Bengal	2022-23	Dum Dum Mound, North 24
		2022.22	Parganas
		2022-23	Bharatpur, Purba Bardhaman