GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †3090

TO BE ANSWERED ON FRIDAY, THE 13.12.2024

Jurisdiction of High Courts

†3090 SHRI BRIJMOHAN AGRAWAL:

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the jurisdictions of the High Courts and their Benches, State/UT-wise;
- (b) the details of the requests received from various State Governments for setting up of High Courts and their Benches including Chhattisgarh;
- (c) the details of the action taken in this regard State/UT-wise; and
- (d) the time by which the said separate High Courts and their benches are likely to be set up in the country, State/UT-wise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE; AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS

(SHRI ARJUN RAM MEGHWAL)

(a). A statement showing jurisdiction of High Courts and their Benches, State/UT-wise is at **Annexure**.

(b) to (d). The High Court Benches are established in accordance with the recommendations made by the Jaswant Singh Commission and judgment pronounced by the Apex Court in W.P. (C) No. 379 of 2000 and after due consideration of a complete proposal from the State Government consenting to

provide necessary expenditure and infrastructural facilities along with the consent of the Chief Justice of the concerned High Court who is required to look after the day to day administration of the High Court. The proposal to be complete should also have the consent of the Governor of the concerned State. At present there is no complete proposal pending with the Government for setting up of Bench(es) of any High Court.

A request was made by the Chief Minister, Nagaland for setting up a separate High Court for the State of Nagaland which would require amendment of the North Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971.

Sl. No.	High Court	Principal Seat	Jurisdiction	Permanent Bench and Date from which the
				Bench began functioning
1	Allahabad	Prayagraj	Uttar Pradesh	1. Lucknow (01.07.1948)
2	Andhra Pradesh	Amaravati	Andhra Pradesh	-
3	Bombay	Mumbai	Maharashtra; Goa; UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu	2. Nagpur (01.05.1960) 3. Panaji (01.07.1948) 4. Aurangabad(27.08.1984)
4	Calcutta	Kolkata	West Bengal & Andaman & Nicobar Islands (UT)	Circuit Benches- 5.Port Blair (2.5.1950) 6. Jaipaiguri (7.2.2019)
5	Chhattisgarh	Bilaspur	Chhattisgarh	-
6	Delhi	New Delhi	NCT of Delhi	-
7	Gauhati	Guwahati	Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, & Arunachal Pradesh	7. Kohima,(10.02.1990) 8. Aizawl, (05.07.1990) 9. Itanagar (12.08.2000)
8	Gujarat	Sola (Ahmedabad)	Gujarat	-
9	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla	Himachal Pradesh	-
10	Jammu &	Jammu &	UTs of Jammu &	-
	Kashmir and Ladakh	Srinagar	Kashmir and Ladakh	
11	Jharkhand	Ranchi	Jharkhand	-
12	Karnataka	Bangalore	Karnataka	10. Dharwad (24.08.2008) 11. Gulbarga(31.08.2008)
13	Kerala	Kochi	Kerala & Lakshadweep Islands (UT)	-
14	Madhya Pradesh	Jabalpur	Madhya Pradesh	12. Gwalior (01.11.1956) 13. Indore (01.11.1956)
15	Madras	Chennai	Tamil Nadu & Puducherry (UT)	14. Madurai (24.07.2004)
16	Manipur	Imphal	Manipur	-
17	Meghalaya	Shillong	Meghalaya	-
18	Orissa	Cuttack	Odisha	-
19	Patna	Patna	Bihar	-
20	Punjab & Haryana	Chandigarh	Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh (UT)	-
21	Rajasthan	Jodhpur	Rajasthan	15. Jaipur (31.01.1977)
22	Sikkim	Gangtok	Sikkim	-
23	Telangana	Hyderabad	Telangana	-
24	Tripura	Agartala	Tripura	-
25	Uttarakhand	Nainital	Uttarakhand	-