GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2872 ANSWERED ON 12.12.2024

ESTABLISHMENT OF EV CHARGING STATIONS

2872. MS. S JOTHIMANI:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the number of Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Stations currently operational in the country, State/UT-wise;
- (b) whether the Government has any plan to establish EV charging stations at a frequent distance and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government has had any consultations with State Governments on the same; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF POWER

(SHRI SHRIPAD NAIK)

- (a): As per data available with Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE), 25,202 nos. of public EV charging stations are deployed in the country. Details of State-wise Public Charging Stations deployed are at Annexure.
- (b): Ministry of Power's "Guidelines for Installation and Operation of Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure 2024", dated 17th September 2024, suggests the following deployment density for EV charging infrastructure:
 - > At least one charging station may be located within a 1 km x 1 km grid in urban areas as notified by respective state governments.
 - > EV Charging Stations may be located every 20 km on both sides of highways, expressways, and major roads.
 - For long range and heavy duty EVs, 1 fast-charging station (with at least two EV chargers of minimum 240 kW capacity each) at every 100 km on each side of the designated expressways, highways and major roads may be located. Cities / Urban Development Authorities / States may locate these facilities in urban regions within areas such as transport hubs or bus depots.
- (c) to (d): Ministry of Power consulted relevant stakeholders including State agencies while finalizing these guidelines.

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2872 ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 12.12.2024

State / UT wise deployed Public EV charging stations (PCS)

S. No.	State Name	No. of PCS
1.	Andaman & Nicobar	4
2.	Andhra Pradesh	601
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	41
4.	Assam	276
5.	Bihar	347
6.	Chandigarh	13
7.	Chhattisgarh	271
8.	Delhi	1941
9.	Goa	137
10.	Gujarat	992
11.	Haryana	709
12.	Himachal Pradesh	106
13.	Jammu & Kashmir	159
14.	Jharkhand	256
15.	Karnataka	5765
16.	Kerala	1212
17.	Lakshadweep	1
18.	Ladakh	1
19.	Madhya Pradesh	903
20.	Maharashtra	3728
21.	Manipur	46
22.	Meghalaya	43
23.	Mizoram	12
24.	Nagaland	28
25.	Odisha	488
26.	Puducherry	41
27.	Punjab	593
28.	Rajasthan	1129
29.	Sikkim	5
30.	Tamil Nadu	1413
31.	Telangana	956
32.	Tripura	50
33.	Uttar Pradesh	1989
34.	Uttarakhand	177
35.	UT of D&NH and D&D	6
36.	West Bengal	763
Total PCS (nos.)		25,202
