GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2722 TO BE ANSWERED ON 11.12.2024

DEVELOPMENT OF BAGAHA RAILWAY STATION UNDER AMRIT BHARAT STATION SCHEME

†2722. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether Bagaha is an important railway station on the border of Bihar and Uttar Pradesh where many important long distance trains have stoppage here and a train also departs from here for the capital Patna;

(b) whether Bagaha railway station has not been included in the Amrit Bharat Station scheme yet despite being a major commercial station; and

(c) if so, whether the Government proposes to develop Bagaha railway station by including it in the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (c) Ministry of Railways has launched 'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' for development of Railway stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach. It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, platform surfacing and cover over platform, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping, etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, etc. as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centre at the station in the long term.

So far, 1337 stations have been identified under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme, out of which 98 stations are located in the state of Bihar. The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the state of Bihar are as following:

State	No. of	Names of Stations
	Stations	
Bihar	98	Anugraha Narayan Road, Ara, Arariya Court,
		Bakhtiyarpur, Banka, Banmankhi, Bapudham
		Motihari, Barahiya, Barauni, Barh, Barsoi Jn,
		Begusarai, Bettiah, Bhabua Road, Bhagalpur,
		Bhagwanpur, Bihar Sharif, Bihiya, Bikramganj,
		Buxar, Chakia, Chausa, Chhapra, Dalsingh Sarai,

Darbhanga, Dauram Madhepura, Dehri On Sone, Dumraon, Durgauti, Dholi. Dighwara, Ekma. Fatuha, Gaya, Ghorasahan, Guraru, Hajipur Jn, Jamalpur, Jamui, Janakpur Road, Jaynagar, Jehanabad, Jhanjharpur, Kahalgaon, Karhagola Road, Katihar, Khagaria Jn, Kishanganj, Kudra, Labha, Laheria Sarai, Luckeesarai, Lakhminia, Madhubani, Maheshkhunt, Mairwa, Mansi Jn, Mashrakh, Mokama, Motipur, Munger, Muzaffarpur, Nabinagar Road, Narkatiaganj, Naugachia, Nawadah, Paharpur, Patliputra, Patna, Piro, Pirpainti, Rafiganj, Raghunathpur, Rajendra Nagar, Rajgir, Ram Dayalu Nagar, Raxaul, Sabaur, Sagauli, Saharsa, Sahibpur Kamal, Sakri, Salauna, Salmari, Samastipur, Sasaram, Shahpur Patoree, Shivanarayanpur, Simri Bakhtiyarpur, Simultala, Sitamarhi, Siwan, Sonpur Jn., Sultanganj, Supaul, Taregna, Thakurganj, Thawe

Bagaha railway station in the state of Bihar is presently being served by 36 train services including 15201/15202 Bagaha-Patliputra Express providing connectivity to Patna.

For improvement / upgradation of various amenities for the passengers at Bagaha railway station, works of construction of new station building with provision of waiting halls and VIP Lounge, toilets, improvement of circulating area, parking area, raising and extension of passenger platform, platform shelters, construction of new Foot Over Bridge, etc. have been taken up.

Further, upgradation/development/redevelopment of stations over Indian Railways is a continuous and ongoing process and works in this regard are undertaken as per requirement, subject to inter-se priority and availability of funds. However, priority for upgradation/ development/redevelopment of stations is accorded to higher category station over lower category station while sanctioning and executing the works.

The details of allocation of funds for development and maintenance of stations are maintained Zonal Railway-wise under Plan Head-53 'Customer Amenities'. The state of Bihar is covered by four zones viz. Eastern Railway, East Central Railway, North Eastern Railway and Northeast Frontier Railway. The allocation for the financial year 2024-25 for these zones is Rs 2,166 Crores.

* * * * *