# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION Lok Sabha UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. : 1829 (TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 5th December 2024) INCREASE IN AIRFARE DURING FESTIVAL SEASON 1829. SHRI UTKARSH VERMA MADHUR Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION

## be pleased to state:-

(a) whether the Government has any scheme to resolve the issue of higher airfare during festive and holidays seasons and if so, the details thereof;

(b) whether the Government has any scheme to maintain uniformity in air fare throughout the year and if so, the details thereof; and

(c) the details of the airports envisaged to be developed in the country based on solar energy in line with Cochin airport, Statewise?

## ANSWER

Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (Shri Murlidhar Mohol)

(a) & (b): With the enhancement of capacity by induction of more aircraft fleet, modernization of airports and development of new airports, domestic passenger traffic has increased to 153,674,310 in 2023-24 as compared to 136,028,656 in the year 2022-23. Even in the current financial year 2024-25 upto-September, the domestic passenger traffic (79,345,065) has surpassed the volume (75,358,445) during the corresponding period in the year 2023-24, reflecting a growth of 5.3%.;

;

Furthermore, with continuous engagement with airlines & Online Ticketing Agents (OTAs) and keeping a watch on the movement of airfares by the government, the airfares have moderated in 2024 relative to 2023. The airlines have also been sensitized to ensure reasonability while fixing the airfares and to keep passengers' interest in mind. Notably, during festival seasons, a decrease in airfares was observed in various sectors.

### ;

The airlines are mandated to display the Tariff Sheet at a prominent location on the home page of airlines' website.

#### ;

Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) has setup a Tariff Monitoring Unit (TMU) that monitors airfares on select domestic sectors on random basis by using airlines' websites on monthly basis to ensure that the airlines do not charge airfares outside the range declared by them.

;

Airfares are not subject to regulation by the Government and airlines have the flexibility to determine their airfares based on their operational needs, while adhering to Rule 135 of the Aircraft Rules, 1937. While the government generally refrains from regulating airfares to maintain market competitiveness, however, it remains vigilant, and the Government intervenes to shift capacity from one sector to another to prevent exorbitant pricing to ensure passenger comfort and welfare.

;

The airfares are dynamic in nature and follow the principle of demand & supply. The trends in airfare prices in India exhibit considerable seasonality, prevailing fuel price, the capacity of the aircraft operating on the route, competition on the sector, season, holidays, festivals, long weekends, events (sports, fairs, contests) etc. Besides this, the pricing of airfares is significantly influenced by operational constraints at airports. Routes experiencing high tourist demand, are subject to limitations imposed by terrain, weather conditions, and restricted operating hours. The combination of constrained capacity and elevated demand leads to fluctuations in airfares.

;

Given the complex dynamics of the Indian aviation industry, Government is playing the role of a facilitator by way of creating enabling environment to support the growth of the sector.

### ;

(c): Cochin airport in 2015 became the first airport in the world to be fully powered by solar energy, i.r. Green energy. Since then, 79 more airports have switched to 100% Green energy usage. State-wise list of these 80 airports is enclosed at Annexure.;

;

Ministry of Civil Aviation has advised all operational airports with scheduled operations and developers of the upcoming Greenfield Airports to work towards achieving Carbon Neutrality & Net Zero which inter-alia includes use of Green energy.;

\* \* \* \* \* \*

# Annexure

# State-wise List of 80 Airports using 100% Green Energy

S. No	Airport	State	Year of achieving 100% Green Energy Use
1	Vizag	Andhra Pradesh	2023
2	Vijayawada	Andhra Pradesh	2023
3	Rajamundhary	Andhra Pradesh	2023
4	Tirupati	Andhra Pradesh	2023
5	Kadappa	Andhra Pradesh	2024
6	Tezu	Arunachal Pradesh	2021
7	Raipur	Chhattisgarh	2024
8	Delhi	Delhi	2022
9	Goa	Goa	2024
10	Vadodara	Gujarat	2023
11	Kandla	Gujarat	2023
12	Bhavnagar	Gujarat	2023
13	Jamnagar	Gujarat	2023
14	Bhuj	Gujarat	2023
15	Rajkot	Gujarat	2023
16	Porbandar	Gujarat	2023
17	Keshod	Gujarat	2024
18	Kangra	Himachal Pradesh	2021
19	Shimla	Himachal Pradesh	2021
20	Kullu	Himachal Pradesh	2021
21	Jammu	Jammu & Kashmir	2021
22	Srinagar	Jammu & Kashmir	2021
23	Bengaluru	Karnataka	2022
24	Hubballi	Karnataka	2022
25	Belagavi	Karnataka	2022
26	Mysuru	Karnataka	2022
27	Cochin	Kerala	2015
28	Calicut	Kerala	2024
29	Leh	Ladakh	2021
30	Bhopal	Madhya Pradesh	2023
31	Gwalior	Madhya Pradesh	2023
32	Jabalpur	Madhya Pradesh	2023
33	Khajuraho	Madhya Pradesh	2023
34	Indore	Madhya Pradesh	2023
35	Nashik	Maharashtra	2019

36	Mumbai	Maharashtra	2022
37	Jalgaon	Maharashtra	2022
38	Kolhapur	Maharashtra	2022
39	Pune	Maharashtra	2022
40	Aurangabad	Maharashtra	2022
41	Gondia	Maharashtra	2022
42	Akola	Maharashtra	2022
43	Sholapur	Maharashtra	2022
44	Juhu	Maharashtra	2022
45	Imphal	Manipur	2021
46	Dimapur	Nagaland	2021
47	Bhubaneswar	Odisha	2023
48	Jharsuguda	Odisha	2023
49	Puducherry	Puducherry	2022
50	Adampur	Punjab	2024
51	Pathankot	Punjab	2024
52	Bathinda	Punjab	2024
53	Amritsar	Punjab	2024
54	Ludhiana	Punjab	2024
55	Pakyong	Sikkim	2021
56	Chennai	Tamil Nadu	2023
57	Coimbatore	Tamil Nadu	2023
58	Trichy	Tamil Nadu	2023
59	Madurai	Tamil Nadu	2023
60	Tuticorin	Tamil Nadu	2023
61	Hyderabad	Telangana	2023
62	Begumpet	Telangana	2023
63	Kanpur (C)	Uttar Pradesh	2021
64	Hindon	Uttar Pradesh	2023
65	Gorakhpur	Uttar Pradesh	2023
66	Prayagraj	Uttar Pradesh	2023
67	Varanasi	Uttar Pradesh	2023
68	Bareilley	Uttar Pradesh	2023
69	Kushinagar	Uttar Pradesh	2023
70	Kanpur (Chk)	Uttar Pradesh	2023
71	Meerut	Uttar Pradesh	2023
72	Agra	Uttar Pradesh	2023
73	Moradabad	Uttar Pradesh	2024
74	Ayodhya	Uttar Pradesh	2024
75	Pantnagar	Uttarakhand	2021
76	Dehradun	Uttarakhand	2021
77	Kolkata	West Bengal	2023
78	Behala	West Bengal	2023
79	Bagdogra	West Bengal	2023
80	Cooch Behar	West Bengal	2023