GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1762 TO BE ANSWERED ON DECEMBER 05, 2024

PM e-BUS SEWA YOJANA

NO. 1762. SHRI ANANTA NAYAK:

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has any plan to run 20,000 e-buses in more than 160 cities across the country;
- (b) if so, the details for the cities of Odisha including the salient features of the scheme thereof;
- (c) the names of the cities selected initially for the said purpose, including the cities of Odisha and particularly from Keonjhar district;
- (d) whether the Government has sanctioned and released any fund under the said scheme and if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the total amount of expenditure likely to be incurred on procurement and operation of the said e-buses in the country?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF SATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS (SHRI TOKHAN SAHU)

(a) Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs launched a Centrally Sponsored Scheme titled as "PM-eBus Sewa" on 16th August 2023 for deploying 10,000 electric buses with a Central Assistance of Rs 20,000 crore.

- (b) Four hundred buses have been sanctioned for 5 cities of Odisha (100 buses each for Bhubaneshwar, Cuttack, Rourkela and 50 buses each for Berhampur and Sambalpur). The Scheme, which was launched on 16thAugust 2023, aims to augment urban bus operations in urban areas with Central Assistance (CA) of Rs.20,000 crore for deploying 10,000 electric buses on PPP model. Cities with a population between 3-40 lakhs and other State Capitals with less than 3 lakh population as per 2011 census including Hilly capitals cities, NER State capital cities and UT capital cities, are eligible to participate in the scheme. Eligibility of buses per city depends on the city's population: 50 buses for a population of 3-5 lakh population and other State Capitals with less than 3 lakhs population, 100 buses for a population of 5-20 lakh; and 150 buses for a population of 20-40 lakh. CA for operation of ebuses will be provided on per kilometre (km) basis for 10 years. Operation support of Rs. 24, 22, 20 per km shall be provided for standard (12m), midi (9m) and mini (7m) buses respectively. As per the Scheme guidelines, Central Assistance for Behind-The-Meter power infrastructure is 100% and Central Assistance for Civil infrastructure of Depot is 60% to cities of States, 90% to capital cities of Hilly States/North-East States/UTs with legislature and 100%to capital cities of UTs without legislature. The validity of the Scheme is upto March, 2037.
- (c) Total 88 cities have applied and selected including cities of Odisha under the Scheme is attached as ANNEXURE-I.
- (d) As on date, Rs 983.75crore has been sanctioned and Rs 438 Cr. has been released in Financial Year 2024-25.
- (e) Under PM-eBus Sewa scheme, a PPP operator/Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) procures, maintains and operates the e-buses on Gross Cost Contract (GCC) model. The PPP operator receives payment against the billed kms on the basis of per-km fee for providing bus service. The expenditure on GCC contracts for procurement, maintenance and operation of electric buses will depend on the discovered per-km fee and kms billed for the operation of electric buses under the scheme.

nagar

35		Jalgaon
36		Chandrapur
37		Malegaon
38		Parbhani
39		Bhubaneswar
40	Odisha	Cuttack
41		Rourkela
42		Berhampur
43		Sambalpur
44		Amritsar
45	-	Jalandhar
46	Punjab	Patiala
47		Ludhiana
48	Meghalaya	Shillong
49		Patna
50	Bihar	Darbhanga
51		Bhagalpur
52		Gaya
53		Muzaffarpur
54		Purnea
55	Puducherry	Puducherry
56	Assam	Guwahati
57	Ladakh	Leh
58		Indore
59		Bhopal
60		Jabalpur
61	Madhya Pradesh	Gwalior
62		Ujjain
63		Sagar
64		
<i>-</i>		Ajmer
65		Ajmer Alwar
65		
	Daileadh	Alwar
66	Rajasthan	Alwar Bikaner
66	Rajasthan	Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara
66 67 68	Rajasthan	Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara Jaipur
66 67 68 69	Rajasthan	Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara Jaipur Jodhpur
66 67 68 69 70	Rajasthan	Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara Jaipur Jodhpur Kota
66 67 68 69 70 71		Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara Jaipur Jodhpur Kota Udaipur
66 67 68 69 70 71	Rajasthan Chhattisgarh	Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara Jaipur Jodhpur Kota Udaipur Bilaspur
66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73		Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara Jaipur Jodhpur Kota Udaipur Bilaspur Bhilai
66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74	Chhattisgarh	Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara Jaipur Jodhpur Kota Udaipur Bilaspur Bhilai Korba
66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75		Alwar Bikaner Bhilwara Jaipur Jodhpur Kota Udaipur Bilaspur Bhilai Korba Raipur

Total	17	88
88		Visakhapatnam
87		Vijayawada
86		Guntur
85		Nellore
84		Tirupati
83		Rajahmundry
82		Kurnool
81		Kakinada
80		Kadapa
79		Anantapur