GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1595 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.12.2024

ADARSH STATION PROGRAMME FOR BIHAR AND UTTAR PRADESH

1595. SHRI DEVESH CHANDRA THAKUR:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of railway stations that have been upgraded/renovated/modernized under the Adarsh Station Programme across the country including Bihar and Uttar Pradesh and detail of the facilities that are being provided at the Adarsh Stations;
- (b) the details of targets set and achievements made in respect of the above scheme, State-wise;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to include some more stations under the said scheme; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (d) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1595 BY SHRI DEVESH CHANDRA THAKUR TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 04.12.2024 REGARDING ADARSH STATION PROGRAMME FOR BIHAR AND UTTAR PRADESH

(a) to (d) Presently stations are being developed under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, platform surfacing and cover over platform, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping, etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, etc. as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centre at the station in the long term.

So far, 1337 stations have been identified under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme, out of which 98 stations are located in the state of Bihar and

157 stations are located in the state of Uttar Pradesh. The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the states of Bihar and Uttar Pradesh are as following:

State	No.	Name of Stations
	of	
	Stati	
	ons	
Bihar	98	Anugraha Narayan Road, Ara, Bakhtiyarpur,
		Banka, Banmankhi, Bapudham Motihari,
		Barahiya, Barauni, Barh, Barsoi Jn, Begusarai,
		Bettiah, Bhabua Road, Bhagalpur,
		Bhagwanpur, Bihar Sharif, Bihiya, Bikramganj,
		Buxar, Chausa, Chhapra, Dalsingh Sarai,
		Darbhanga, Dauram Madhepura, Dehri On
		Sone, Dholi, Dighwara, Dumraon, Durgauti,
		Fatuha, Gaya, Ghorasahan, Guraru, Hajipur Jn,
		Jamalpur, Jamui, Janakpur Road, Jaynagar,
		Jehanabad, Jhanjharpur, Kahalgaon,
		Karhagola Road, Katihar, Khagaria Jn,
		Kishanganj, Kudra, Labha, Laheria Sarai,
		Luckeesarai, Lakhminia, Madhubani,
		Maheshkhunt, Mairwa, Mansi Jn, Mokama,
		Munger, Muzaffarpur, Nabinagar Road,
		Narkatiaganj, Naugachia, Paharpur, Patliputra,
		Patna, Piro, Pirpainti, Rafiganj, Raghunathpur,

Rajendra Nagar, Rajgir, Ram Dayalu Nagar, Raxaul, Sabaur, Sagauli, Saharsa, Sahibpur Kamal, Sakri, Salauna, Salmari, Samastipur, Sasaram, Shahpur Patoree, Shivanarayanpur, Simri Bakhtiyarpur, Simultala, Sitamarhi, Siwan, Sonpur Jn., Sultanganj, Supaul, Taregna, Thakurganj, Thawe, Arariya Court, Chakia, Nawadah, Motipur, Ekma, Mashrakh 157 Achnera, Agra Cantt, Agra Fort, Aishbagh, Uttar **Pradesh** Akbarpur Jn, Aligarh, Amethi, Amroha, Dham, Azamgarh, Ayodhya Babatpur, Badshahnagar, Bachhrawan, Badaun, Bahraich, Badshahpur, Baheri, Ballia, Balrampur, Banaras, Banda, Barabanki Jn, Bareilly, Bareilly City, Barhni, Basti, Belthara Bhadohi, Bharatkund, Road. Bhatni, Bhuteshwar, Bulandsahar, ChandauliMajhwar, Chandausi, Chilbila, Chitrakut Dham Karwi, Chopan, Chunar Jn., Daliganj, Darshannagar, Sadar, Dildarnagar, Etawah Deoria Farrukhabad, Fatehabad, Fatehpur, Fatehpur Sikri, Firozabad, Gajraula, Garhmukteshwar, Gauriganj, Ghatampur, Ghaziabad, Ghazipur City, Gola Gokarnath, Gomtinagar, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Govardhan, Govindpuri, Gursahaiganj, Haidergarh, Hapur, Hardoi,

Hathras City, Idgah, Izzatnagar, Janghai Jn, Jaunpur City, Jaunpur Jn, Kannauj, Kanpur Anwarganj, Kanpur Bridge Left bank, Kanpur Kaptanganj, Kasganj, Central, Kashi, Khalilabad, Khurja Jn., Kosi Kalan, Kunda Harnamganj, Lakhimpur, Lalganj, Lalitpur, Lambhua, Lohta, Lucknow (Charbagh & Jn.), Lucknow City, Maghar, Mahoba, Mailani, Mainpuri Jn., Malhaur Jn, Manaknagar Jn, Manikpur Jn., Mariahu, Mathura, Mau, Meerut City, Mirzapur, Modi Nagar, Mohanlalganj, Moradabad, Nagina, Najibabad Jn., Nihalgarh, Orai, Panki Dham, Phaphamau Jn, Phulpur, Pilibhit, Pokhrayan, Pratapgarh Jn, Prayag Jn, Prayagraj, Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyay, Raebareli Jn., Raja Ki Mandi, Ramghat Halt, Rampur, Renukoot, Saharanpur Jn., Salempur, Seohara, Shahganj Jn, Shahjahanpur, Shamli, Shikohabad Jn., Shivpur, Siddharth Nagar, Sitapur Jn., Sonbhadra, Sri Krishna Nagar, Sultanpur Jn, Suraimanpur, Swaminarayan Chappia, Takia, Tulsipur, Tundla Jn., Ujhani, Unchahar, Unnao Jn., Utraitia Jn., Varanasi Cantt., Varanasi City, Vindhyachal, Virangana Lakshmibai, Vyasnagar, Zafarabad, Khorsanraod, Anand Nagar, Bijnor, Dhampur,

Balamau, Aonla, Muzaffarnagar

The details of allocation of funds for development and maintenance of stations are maintained Zonal Railway-wise under Plan Head-53 'Customer Amenities'. The state of Bihar is covered by four zones viz. Eastern Railway, East Central Railway, North Eastern Railway and Northeast Frontier Railway. The allocation for the financial year 2024-25 for these zones is Rs 2166 Crores.

The state of Uttar Pradesh is covered by five zones viz. Northern Railway, North Central Railway, North Eastern Railway, East Central Railway and West Central Railway. The allocation for the financial year 2024-25 for these zones is Rs 5930 Crores.

Further, upgradation/development/redevelopment of stations on Indian Railways is a continuous and on-going process and works in this regard are undertaken as per requirement, subject to inter-se priority and availability of funds. However, priority for upgradation/development/redevelopment of stations is accorded to higher category of station over lower category of station while sanctioning and executing the works.

Development/redevelopment/upgradation of Railway Stations is complex in nature involving safety of passengers & trains and requires various statutory clearances such as fire clearance, heritage, tree cutting, air-port clearance etc. The progress also gets affected due to brownfield related challenges such as shifting of

utilities (involving water/sewage lines, optical fibre cables, gas pipe lines, power/signal cables, etc.), infringements, operation of trains without hindering passenger movement, speed restrictions due to works carried out in close proximity of tracks and high voltage power lines, etc. and these factors affect the completion time. Therefore, no time frame can be indicated at this stage.

1251 Railway stations were developed under Adarsh Station Scheme. This scheme involved improvement to facade of station buildings, retiring rooms, waiting rooms, computer based public address system, signages, Pay & Use toilets, water coolers, high level platforms, Foot Over Bridges, ramps at entry to station for Divyangjans and Senior Citizens, etc. as per the respective category of stations.
