GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1561 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.12.2024

AMRIT BHARAT STATION SCHEME

1561. SHRI KARTICK CHANDRA PAUL:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has started Amrit Bharat Station Scheme for redevelopment of stations in West Bengal, if so, the details thereof;

(b) the number of stations in Uttar Dinajpur District of West Bengal included under the scheme;

(c) whether Raiganj Railway Station is proposed to be included under the scheme;

(d) the details these stations in facilitating better passenger experience in Indian Railways; and

(e) the details of budgetary allocation made for the redevelopment of stations in West Bengal?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (e) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1561 BY SHRI KARTICK CHANDRA PAUL TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 04.12.2024 REGARDING AMRIT BHARAT STATION SCHEME

(a) to (e) Ministry of Railways has launched 'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' for development of Railway stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, platform surfacing and cover over platform, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping, etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, etc. as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centre at the station in the long term.

So far, 1337 stations have been selected under this scheme out of which 101 stations are located in the state of West Bengal, including three stations of Uttar Dinajpur District viz. Aluabari Road, Dalkhola and Kaliyaganj. The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the state of West Bengal are as following:

State	No. of Stations	Name of Stations
West Bengal	101	Adra, Alipurduar Jn., Aluabari Road, Ambika Kalna, Anara, Andal Jn., Andul, Asansol Jn., Azimganj, Bagnan, Bally, Balurghat, Bandel Jn., Bangaon Jn., Bankura , Barabhum, Barasat, Barddhaman, Barrackpore, Belda, Berhampore court, Bethuadahari, Bhaluka Road, Binnaguri, Bishnupur, Bolpur Shantiniketan, Burnpur, Canning, Chandan nagar, Chandpara, Chandrakona Road, Dalgaon, Dalkhola, Dankuni, Dhulian Ganga, Dhupguri, Digha, Dinhata, Dum Dum Jn., Falakata, Garbeta, Gede, Haldia, Haldibari, Harishchandrapur, Hasimara, Hijli, Howrah, Jalpaiguri, Jalpaiguri Road, Jangipur Road, Jhalida, Jhargram, JoychandiPahar, Kaliyaganj, Kalyani Ghoshpara, Kalyani Jn, Kamakhyaguri, Katwa Jn., Khagraghat Road, Kharagpur, Kolkata, Krishnanagar City Jn, Kumedpur, Madhukunda, Madhyamgram, Malda Court, Malda Town, Mecheda, Midnapore, Nabadwip Dham, Naihati Jn., New Alipurduar,

State	No. of Stations	Name of Stations
		New Cooch Behar, New Farakka, New Jalpaiguri, New Mal Jn., Ondagram, Panagarh, Pandabeswar, Panskura, Purulia Jn., Rampurhat, Ranaghat, Sainthia Jn, Salboni, Samsi, Santragachi, Sealdah, Shalimar, Shantipur, Sheoraphuli Jn., Siliguri, Sitarampur, Siuri, Sonarpur Jn., Suisa, Tamluk, Tarakeswar, Tulin, Uluberia

The details of allocation of funds for development and maintenance of stations are maintained Zonal Railway-wise under Plan Head-53 'Customer Amenities' and not work-wise or Station-wise or State wise. The state of West Bengal is covered by four zones viz. Eastern Railway, Northeast Frontier Railway, South Eastern Railway and Metro Railway. The allocation for the financial year 2024-25 for these zones is Rs 1410 Crores.

Further, upgradation/development/redevelopment of stations on Indian Railways is a continuous and on-going process and works in this regard are undertaken as per requirement, subject to inter-se priority and availability of funds. However, priority for upgradation/development/ redevelopment of stations is accorded to higher category of station over lower category of station while sanctioning and executing the works.

* * * * *