GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY DEPARTMENT FOR PROMOTION OF INDUSTRY AND INTERNAL TRADE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1348. TO BE ANSWERED ON TUESDAY, THE 03RD DECEMBER, 2024.

CLOSURE OF INDUSTRIAL UNITS

1348. SHRI RAKESH RATHOR:

Will the Minister of **COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY** be pleased to state: वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्री

- (a) whether an assessment is being made/has been made by the Government of the industrial units laying closed in various States of the country;
- (b) if so, the details of such closed industrial units and units in Uttar Pradesh, district-wise;
- (c) the details of the industrial units of Sitapur district of Uttar Pradesh has been obtained; and
- (d) whether any steps are being taken by the Government to restart such industrial units and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्री (श्री पीयूष गोयल) THE MINISTER OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

- (a): The subject of Industries is primarily under the domain of State Governments. The Government maintains the data in respect of closure of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs). The State/UT-wise number of MSMEs closed under Udyam between 1st July 2020 to 15th November 2024, as shared by the Ministry of MSME is placed at **Annexure-A**.
- (b) & (c): The district-wise details of closed MSMEs for the State of Uttar Pradesh between 1st July 2020 to 15th November 2024 under Udyam are placed at Annexure-B.
 - (d): Government has taken a number of initiatives like the Make in India, Production-Linked Incentive (PLI) Scheme and National Industrial Corridor Programme complimented by continued efforts for promoting Ease of Doing Business (EoDB) and reducing compliance burden to promote industrial growth. The State Government also promotes industrial development through its industrial policies, which have focus on supporting small and medium enterprises.

The Government has also taken various initiatives to provide finances for MSMEs, which inter-alia include the following:

- Collateral free loans up to a limit of Rs. 500 lakh (w.e.f. 01.04.2023) to Micro and Small Enterprises, with guarantee coverage up to 85 % for various categories of loans through Credit Guarantee Fund Trust for Micro and Small Enterprises (CGTMSE) under Credit Guarantee Scheme for Micro and Small Enterprises.
- Under Prime Minister's Employment Generation Programme, credit linked subsidy for setting up new micro-enterprises in non-farm sector is provided. Margin Money subsidy ranging from 15% to 35% of project cost, for projects up to Rs. 50 Lakh in Manufacturing sector and Rs. 20 Lakh in the Service sector, is provided. For beneficiaries belonging to Special categories, including women, the margin money subsidy is 35% in rural areas and 25% in urban areas.
- The Emergency Credit Line Guarantee Scheme (ECLGS) was launched in May, 2020 as part of Aatmanirbhar Bharat Abhiyaan to support eligible MSMEs and business enterprises in meeting their operational liabilities and restarting their businesses in the context of the disruption caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Scheme was operational till 31.03.2023. This Scheme covered all the sectors of the economy. Under this, 100% guarantee was provided to Member Lending Institutions (MLIs) in respect of the credit facility extended by them to eligible borrowers.

ANNEXURE-A

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1348 FOR ANSWER ON 03.12.2024.

State Wise Total MSME Closed Under Udyam Since 01/07/2020 to 15/11/2024						
SI. No.	State	Micro	Small	Medium	Total	
1	ANDAMAN AND NICOBAR ISLANDS	79	1	-	80	
2	ANDHRA PRADESH	1,012	13	1	1,026	
3	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	3	-	-	3	
4	ASSAM	99	2	2	103	
5	BIHAR	2,772	2	1	2,775	
6	CHANDIGARH	58	1	-	59	
7	CHHATTISGARH	747	4	1	752	
8	DELHI	968	22	2	992	
9	GOA	139	2		141	
10	GUJARAT	5,876	89	7	5,972	
11	HARYANA	1,569	30	-	1,599	
12 13	HIMACHAL PRADESH JAMMU AND KASHMIR	334 697	7 4	-	341 701	
14	JHARKHAND	1,142	5	-	1,147	
15	KARNATAKA	2,984	23	3	3,010	
16	KERALA	1,747	5	1	1,753	
17	LADAKH	17	-	-	17	
18	LAKSHADWEEP	-	-	-	-	
19	MADHYA PRADESH	2,341	9	2	2,352	
20	MAHARASHTRA	15,109	95	16	15,220	
21	MANIPUR	215	2	-	217	
22	MEGHALAYA	3	-	-	3	
23	MIZORAM	26	-	-	26	
24	NAGALAND	25	-	-	25	
25	ODISHA	1,273	6	-	1,279	
26	PUDUCHERRY	170	2	-	172	
27	PUNJAB	427	8	-	435	
28	RAJASTHAN	4,951	38	5	4,994	
29	SIKKIM	2	-	-	2	
30	TAMIL NADU	7,834	58	2	7,894	
31	TELANGANA	1,705	14	2	1,721	
32	THE DADRA AND NAGAR HAVELI AND DAMAN AND DIU	73	4	-	77	
33	TRIPURA	46	2	1	49	
34	UTTAR PRADESH	3,738	27	4	3,769	
35	UTTARAKHAND	703	7	1	711	
36	WEST BENGAL	2,025	25	2	2,052	
	Total:-	60,909	507	53	61,469	

ANNEXURE-B

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (b) & (c) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1348 FOR ANSWER ON 03.12.2024.

District Wise Total MSME Closed Under Udyam Since 01/07/2020 to 15/11/2024 for Uttar Pradesh State

SI. No.	District	Micro	Small	Medium	Total
1	AGRA	205	1	-	206
2	ALIGARH	71	-	-	71
3	AMBEDAKAR NAGAR	50	-	-	50
4	AMETHI	36	1	-	37
5	AMROHA	22	2	-	24
6	AURAIYA	10	_	-	10
7	AYODHYA	20	_	-	20
8	AZAMGARH	108	_	-	108
9	BAGHPAT	32	2	-	34
10	BAHRAICH	37	1	-	38
	BALLIA	63	-	-	63
	BALRAMPUR	29	-	-	29
	BANDA	21	_	_	21
	BARABANKI	12	_	1	13
	BAREILLY	102	1	-	103
	BASTI	14	_	-	14
	BHADOHI	54	_	-	54
	BIJNOR	41	1	_	42
	BUDAUN	26	_	-	26
	BULANDSHAHAR	49	_	-	49
21	CHANDAULI	29	_	-	29
22	CHITRAKOOT	14	_	-	14
	DEORIA	16	_	-	16
24	ETAH	18	_	-	18
25	ETAWAH	13	_	-	13
	FARRUKHABAD	12	_	-	12
	FATEHPUR	16	_	_	16
28	FIROZABAD	61	_	-	61
29	GAUTAM BUDDHA NAGAR	180	3	1	184
30	GHAZIABAD	239	_	-	239
31	GHAZIPUR	76	_	_	76
32	GONDA	41	-	-	41
33	GORAKHAPUR	46	-	-	46
34	HAMIRPUR	3	-	-	3
	HAPUR	31	-	-	31
	HARDOI	13	-	-	13
37	HATHRAS	34	1	-	35
38	JALAUN	9	-	-	9
39	JAUNPUR	109	-	-	109
40	JHANSI	38	-	-	38

	Total:-	3,738	27	4	3,769
75	VARANASI	227	1	-	228
74	UNNAO	15	•	-	15
73	SULTANPUR	41	-	-	41
72	SONBHADRA	27	-	1	28
71	SITAPUR	23	-	-	23
70	SIDDHARTHNAGAR	40	-	-	40
69	SHRAVASTI	14	-	-	14
68	SHAMLI	14	-	-	14
67	SHAHJAHANPUR	15	-	-	15
66	SANT KABEER NAGAR	43	-	-	43
65	SAMBHAL	17	-	-	17
64	SAHARANPUR	92	4	-	96
63	RAMPUR	28	2	-	30
62	RAE BARELI	13	1	-	14
61	PRAYAGRAJ	176	_	-	176
60	PRATAPGARH	63	1	-	64
59	PILIBHIT	42	-	-	42
58	MUZAFFARNAGAR	49	-	-	49
57	MORADABAD	76	-	-	76
56	MIRZAPUR	45	1	1	47
55	MEERUT	112	-	-	112
54	MAU	52	1	-	53
53	MATHURA	100	_	_	100
52	MAINPURI	20	_	_	20
51	MAHOBA	12	_	_	12
50	MAHARAJGANJ	51			51
49	LUCKNOW	148	2		150
48	LALITPUR	5	-		5
47	LAKHIMPUR KHERI	11			11
46	KUSHINAGAR	20	-		20
45	KAUSHAMBI	21			21
44	KASGANJ	16			16
43	KANPUR NAGAR	87			87
41 42	KANNAUJ KANPUR DEHAT	9	1	_	15
