### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

## LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 335 TO BE ANSWERED ON 18.12.2024

## GOODS TRAINS OPERATED BY PRIVATE PLAYERS IN UTTAR PRADESH

### **†\*335. SHRI UTKARSH VERMA MADHUR:**

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the number of goods trains operated by private players in Uttar Pradesh;
- (b) the number of goods trains passing through Lakhimpur and the number of goods trains operated by private players out of the said goods trains;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to build Dedicated Freight Corridors as the operations of more goods trains on the common track affects the operation of passenger trains resulting in delay of passenger trains, reduced halt time at stations along with arrival and departure time also getting disrupted, if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) the details of various schemes formulated by the Government for the development of Lakhimpur region in Uttar Pradesh which is also known as Chini Ka Katora and is home to nine large and many other smaller Sugar mills?

#### ANSWER

# MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

#### (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 335 TO BE ANSWERED ON 18.12.2024

(a) to (d): On Indian Railway (IR) network, the operation of trains is controlled by IR only.

Ministry of Railways has taken up construction of two Dedicated Freight Corridors (DFC) viz. Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor (EDFC) from Ludhiana to Sonnagar (1337 Km) and Western Dedicated Freight Corridor (WDFC) from Jawaharlal Nehru Port Terminal (JNPT) to Dadri (1506 Km). The total route length of Eastern DFC is 1078 Km in the state of Uttar Pradesh (from Ganj Khawaja station to Pilkhani station).

Eastern DFC is fully commissioned and operational, which carried 41,054 freight trains during FY 2024-25 (April to October).

Recently, a railway line passing through Khiri has been converted to broad gauge.

Ministry of Railways has launched 'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' for development of Railway stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, platform surfacing and cover over platform, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through

**..2**/-

schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping, etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, etc. as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centre at the station in the long term.

So far, 1337 stations have been identified for development / upgradation under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme, out of which 157 stations, including Lakhimpur station, are located in the state of Uttar Pradesh. The names of stations identified for development under this Scheme in the states of Uttar Pradesh are as following:

State	No. of Amrit Stations	Name of Stations
Uttar	157	Achnera, Agra Cantt, Agra Fort, Aishbagh,
Pradesh		Akbarpur Jn, Aligarh, Amethi, Amroha, Anand
		Nagar, Aonla, Ayodhya Dham, Azamgarh,
		Babatpur, Bachhrawan, Badaun, Badshahnagar,
		Badshahpur, Baheri, Bahraich, Ballia, Balamau,
		Balrampur, Banaras, Banda, Barabanki Jn,
		Bareilly, Bareilly City, Barhni, Basti, Belthara
		Road, Bhadohi, Bharatkund, Bhatni, Bhuteshwar,

Bijnor, Bulandsahar, Chandauli Majhwar, Chandausi, Chilbila, Chitrakut Dham Karwi, Chopan, Chunar Jn, Daliganj, Darshannagar, Deoria Sadar, Dhampur, Dildarnagar, Etawah Jn, Farrukhabad, Fatehabad, Fatehpur, Fatehpur Sikri, Firozabad, Gajraula, Garhmukteshwar, Gauriganj, Ghatampur, Ghaziabad, Ghazipur City, Gola Gokarnath, Gomtinagar, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Govardhan, Govindpuri, Gursahaiganj, Haidergarh, Hapur, Hardoi, Hathras City, Idgah, Izzatnagar, Janghai Jn, Jaunpur City, Jaunpur Jn, Kannauj, Kanpur Anwarganj, Kanpur Bridge Left bank, Kanpur Central, Kaptanganj, Kasganj, Kashi, Khalilabad, Khurja Jn, Kosi Kalan, Khorsan Road, Kunda Harnamganj, Lakhimpur, Lalganj, Lalitpur, Lambhua, Lohta, Lucknow (Charbagh & Jn), Lucknow City, Maghar, Mahoba, Mailani, Mainpuri Jn, Malhaur Jn, Manaknagar Jn, Manikpur Jn., Mariahu, Mathura, Meerut City, Mirzapur, Modi Mau, Nagar, Mohanlalganj, Moradabad, Muzaffarnagar, Nagina, Najibabad Jn, Nihalgarh, Orai, Panki Dham, Phulpur, Phaphamau Jn, Pilibhit, Pokhrayan, Pratapgarh Jn, Prayag Jn, Prayagraj, Pt. Deen Dayal Upadhyay, Raebareli Jn, Raja Ki Mandi, Ramghat Halt, Rampur, Renukoot, Saharanpur Jn, Salempur, Seohara, Shahganj Jn, Shahjahanpur, Shamli, Shikohabad Jn, Shivpur, Siddharth Nagar,

- 3 -

Sitapur Jn, Sonbhadra, Sri Krishna Nagar, Sultanpur
Jn, Suraimanpur,Swaminarayan Chappia, Takia,
Tulsipur, Tundla Jn, Ujhani, Unchahar, Unnao Jn,
Utraitia Jn, Varanasi Cantt., Varanasi City,
Vindhyachal, Virangana Lakshmibai, Vyasnagar,
Zafarabad

Out of 157 Amrit stations located in the state of Uttar Pradesh, tenders for development works have been awarded and works have been taken up for 148 stations including Lakhimpur station. At Lakhimpur station, works of improvement of waiting rooms, retiring rooms, platform shelters, entry-exit gate, construction of ramp and tactile guideway for Divyangjans have been completed and works of improvement of circulating area, toilet block, landscaping, etc. have been taken up.

Further, development / upgradation / modernisation of stations including under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme is generally funded under Plan Head-53 'Customer Amenities'. The details of allocation under Plan Head-53 are maintained Zonal Railway-wise and not work-wise or station-wise or State-wise. The state of Uttar Pradesh is covered by five zones viz. Northern Railway, North Central Railway, North Eastern Railway, East Central Railway and West Central Railway. The allocation for the financial year 2024-25 for these zones is Rs 5,930 Crores under Plan Head-53.

As on 01.04.2024, 68 Railway projects (16 New Line, 03 Gauge Conversion and 49 Doubling), of total length of 5,874 Km costing ₹92,001 crore falling fully/partly in the State of Uttar Pradesh, are at

..5/-

various stages of planning and implementation, out of which 1,313 Km length has been commissioned and an expenditure of ₹28,366 crore has been incurred upto March 2024. The status of work is summarized as under:-

Plan Head	No. of projects	Total Length (in Km)	Length Commissioned (in Km)	Expenditure upto March 2024 (₹in Cr)
New Lines	16	1740	297	8672
Gauge Conversion	3	261	0	26
Doubling/ Multitracking	49	3873	1016	19668
Total	68	5874	1313	28366

Since 2014, there has been substantial increase in fund allocation and commensurate commissioning of projects across Indian Railways. Budget allocation for Infrastructure projects and safety works falling fully/partly in the state of Uttar Pradesh:-

Period	Average Outlay	Increase in outlay w.r.t. average allocation of 2009-14
2009-14	₹1109 Crore/year	-
2024-25	₹19,848 Crore	About 18 times

Average Annual commissioning for infrastructure projects and safety works, falling fully/partly in the State of Uttar Pradesh is as under:-

Period	Commissioning	Increase w.r.t. average annual commissioning during 2009-14
2009-14	199.2 km /Yr	-
2014-24	490.2 Km/Yr	More than 2.46 times