GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO. 187

ANSWERED ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 09, 2024/ Agrahayana 18, 1946 (Saka)

Status of Draft Digital Competition Bill

QUESTION

187. Adv Dean Kuriakose:

Will the Minister of CORPORATE AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the current status of the Draft Digital Competition Bill;
- (b) whether the Government has held any consultations under the Pre-Legislative Consultation Policy (PLCP) for the draft digital competition bill;
- (c) If so, the details of stakeholders who were consulted and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (d) Whether the Government plans to release the draft Bill for future consultations and if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF FINANCE AND CORPORATE AFFAIRS

(SHRIMATI NIRMALA SITHARAMAN)

(a) to (d) A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO PARTS (a) to (d) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 187 FOR 09.12.2024 REGARDING STATUS OF DRAFT DIGITAL COMPETITION BILL

- (a) to (d): Consultations on the Draft Digital Competition Bill (DCB) were conducted in consonance with the Pre- Legislative Consultation Policy (PLCP) of the Ministry of Corporate Affairs (MCA) as under: -
 - During March 2023, closed-door consultations were held with entities and stakeholders likely to be impacted by the law during the formulation of the Draft DCB including industry associations, domestic and foreign digital enterprises and think-tanks etc. List of stakeholders is placed at Annexure-I.
 - Stakeholder consultations were done from March 12- May 15, 2024 wherein the Report of the Committee on Digital Competition Law (CDCL) along with Draft DCB was placed on MCA website under the e-Consultation mode. More than 100 stakeholders submitted responses, ranging from legal professionals, industry associations, civil society organisations, and domestic & foreign digital enterprises providing digital services in India. List of stakeholders is placed at Annexure-II.
 - Stakeholder discussions were also organised by Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (Meity) between 18.06.2024 to 20.06.2024.

Suggestions/inputs/comments received from stakeholders are being examined.

Annexure-I

- 1. Amazon
- 2. Apple India Private Ltd.
- 3. Bundl Technologies Pvt Ltd. & Swiggy
- 4. Centre for the Digital future
- 5. Flipkart
- 6. Google
- 7. India Cellular and Electronics Association
- 8. Internet and Mobile Association of India
- 9. Meta (Facebook)
- 10. Oyo
- 11. Uber
- 12. USIBC
- 13. Zomato
- 14. All India Gaming Federation
- 15. Alliance of Digital India Foundation
- 16. Artha Global
- 17. Asia Travel Technology Industry Association
- 18. AZB & Partners
- 19. Confederation of All India Traders
- 20. Digital News Publishers Association
- 21. Esya Centre
- 22. Federation of Hotel & Restaurant Associations of India
- 23. Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations
- 24. MakeMyTrip
- 25. Newspaper Association of India
- 26. National Restaurant Association of India
- 27. NASSCOM
- 28. Paytm
- 29. Twitter.

Annexure-II

S. NO.	NAME OF STAKEHOLDER
1.	Niti Aayog
2.	FIRST India
3.	CCAOI
4.	Swiggy
5.	American Bar Association
6.	E-Gaming Federation
7.	US-India Business Council (USIBC)
8.	India Cellular and Electronics Association (ICEA)
9.	Skyscanner
10.	ASSOCHAM
11.	US-India Strategic Partnership Forum (USISPF)
12.	Match Group
13.	Founders and Investors of the Indian Digital Startup Ecosystem
14.	Indian Governance and Policy Project (IGAP)
15.	Play Games24*7 Private Limited
16.	Nasscom
17.	Luthra and Luthra Law Offices India
18.	Tech Freedom
19.	All India Gaming Federation (AIGF)
20.	India Regulatory Practices Group LLP (IRPG)
21.	Meta Platforms Inc.
22.	Civis

23.	Shilpi Bhattacharya, Professor, Jindal Global Law School (JGLS)
24.	Centre for Competition Law and Economics (CCLE)
25.	Amazon India
26.	India MART
27.	Airtel
28.	ACCESS Now
29.	International Bar Association (IBA)
30.	Broadband India Forum (BIF)
31.	Indian Broadcasting and Digital Foundation(IBDF) & Indian
	Digital Media Industry Foundation(IDMIF)
32.	Coalition for App Fairness (CAF)
33.	OLA Electric
34.	The Dialogue
35.	Internet Freedom Foundation (IFF)
36.	International Center for Law & Economics
37.	Motion Picture Dist. Association (India) Private Limited
	(MPA)
38.	Indian Chamber of Commerce(ICC)
39.	PRS Legislative Research
40.	EBC Publishing Private Limited and SCC Online
41.	MakeMyTrip India Private Limited
42.	Alliance of Digital India Foundation(ADIF)
43.	MAIT
44.	TATA Digital
45.	Progressive Policy Institute (PPI)
46.	PhonePe Private Limited
47.	Trilegal

48.	Netflix
49.	Zomato
50.	Google
51.	National Law Institute University, Bhopal
52.	National Restaurant Association of India (NRAI)
53.	India Tech.Org
54.	Induslaw
55.	Digital News Publishers Association(DNPA)
56.	Software Freedom Law Center (SFLC)
57.	Internet and Mobile Association of India (IAMAI)
58.	Hindustan Unilever Limited
59.	Koan Advisory Group
60.	ESYA Centre
61.	PROSUS
62.	CUTS international
63.	DeepStrat Pvt Ltd
64.	FICCI
65.	Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF)
66.	(ACT)The App Association
67.	Anupam Sanghi & Associates (ASA)
68.	Asia Internet Coalition (AIC)
69.	Asia Travel Technology Industry Association (ATTIA)
70.	Computer & Communications Industry Association (CCIA)
71.	Indian Music Industry (IMI)
72.	Microsoft
73.	Confederation of Indian Industry (CII)
74.	DMD Advocates

75.	All India Chartered Accountant Society (AICAS)
76.	Economists at Compass Lexicon (Justin Coombs,
	Kadambari Prasad, Neha Georgie) and FTI Consulting
	(Avinash Mehrotra, Jincy Francis)
77.	Centre for Internet and Society (CIS)
78.	Sidharth Chauhan, Associate Professor and Associate Dean,
	Jindal Global Law School, O.P. Jindal Global University
79.	BTG Advaya
80.	Rishab Bailey and IT for Change
81.	DSK Legal- Advocates and Solicitors
82.	Truecaller
83.	Dynamic Competition Initiative (DCI)
84.	Touchstone Partners
85.	Economic Laws Practice (ELP)
86.	Data Security Council of India (DSCI)
87.	Uber
88.	Nabin Jain
89.	Ruchika Gambhir(Researcher)
90.	Abhivardhan (Indic Pacific Legal Research)
91.	Rashmi Baranwal(Professional)
92.	Abhishek Murukate
93.	Vikas Kathuria(Researcher)
94.	Jayshree Chandra(Professional)
95.	Amey Kantak(Researcher)
96.	Iqra Jabeen Ansari(LTIM)
97.	Pankhudi Khandelwal (Dynamin Competition Initiative)
98.	Blaise Fernandes(Indian Music Industry)
99.	Jasleen Kaur(Professional)

100.	Murugavel Janakiraman (Matrimony.com)
101.	Ajay Kamath (Kamath Legal)
102.	Akanksha G(Researcher)
103.	Neil Bhutani (Dawesco LLP)
104.	Vivek Agarwal
105.	AMCHAM INDIA
106.	People Group/Shaadi.com and others