GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 122 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04.12.2024

REDEVELOPMENT OF STATIONS UNDER AMRIT BHARAT STATION SCHEME

*122 SHRI MANISH JAISWAL: SHRI DARSHAN SINGH CHOUDHARY:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the features of Amrit Bharat Station Scheme;

(b) whether the Government has started Amrit Bharat Station Scheme for redevelopment of stations in the country especially in Jharkhand, Hoshangabad Lok Sabha Constituency, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra and if so, the details thereof;

(c) the number of stations covered/redeveloped under the said scheme;

(d) the manner in which these stations will facilitate better passenger experience in Indian Railways;

(e) whether there are any plans to increase the number of passenger coaches in local trains of the West Central Railway Zone to improve passenger convenience, if so, the details thereof; and

(f) the details of budgetary allocation made for the redevelopment of Stations in Madhya Pradesh (Hoshangabad Station), Maharashtra (Palgarh station) and Jharkhand?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (f) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

* * * * *

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (f) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 122 BY SHRI MANISH JAISWAL AND SHRI DARSHAN SINGH CHOUDHARY TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 04.12.2024 REGARDING REDEVELOPMENT OF STATIONS UNDER AMRIT BHARAT STATION SCHEME

(a) to (f) Ministry of Railways has launched 'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' for development of Railway stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, platform surfacing and cover over platform, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping, etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks, etc. as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centres at the station in the long term.

So far, 1337 station have been identified under this scheme out of which 57 stations are located in the state of Jharkhand, 132 stations are located in the state of Maharashtra and 80 stations are located in the state of Madhya Pradesh (including 7 stations in Hoshangabad Lok Sabha Constituency). The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the states of Jharkhand, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh are as following:

State	No. of Stations	Name of Stations
Jharkhand	57	Balsiring, Bano, Barajamda Jn, Barkakana, Basukinath, Bhaga, Bokaro Steel City, Chaibasa, Chakradharpur, Chandil, Chandrapura, Daltonganj, Dangoaposi, Deoghar, Dhanbad, Dumka, Gamharia, Gangaghat, Garhwa Road, Garhwa Town, Ghatsila, Giridih, Godda, Govindpur Road, Haidarnagar, Hatia, Hazaribagh Road, Jamtara, Japla, Jasidih, Katrasgarh, Koderma, Kumardhubi, Latehar, Lohardaga, Madhupur, Manoharpur, Muhammadganj, Muri, N.S.C.B. Gomoh, Nagaruntari, Namkom, Orga, Pakur, Parasnath, Piska, Rajkharswan, Rajmahal, Ramgarh Cantt, Ranchi, Sahibganj, Sankarpur, Silli, Sini, Tatanagar, Tatisilwai, Vidyasagar
Maharashtra	132	Ahmednagar, Ajni (Nagpur), Akalkot Road, Akola, Akurdi, Amalner, Amgaon, Amravati, Andheri, Aurangabad, Badnera, Balharshah, Bandra Terminus, Baramati, Belapur, Bhandara Road, Bhokar , Bhusawal, Borivali, Byculla, Chalisgaon, Chanda Fort,

Chandrapur, Charni Road, Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, Chinchpokli, Chinchwad, Dadar (DDR), Dadar (DR), Dahisar, Daund, Dehu Road. Devlali. Dhamangaon, Dharangaon, Dharmabad, Dhule, Diva, Dudhani, Gangakher, Godhani, Gondia, Grant Road, Hadapsar, Hatkanangale, Hazur Sahib Nanded, Himayatnagar, Hinganghat, Hingoli Deccan, Igatpuri, Itwari, Jalgaon, Jalna, Jeur, Jogeshwari, Kalyan, Kamptee, Kandivali, Kanjur Marg, Karad, Katol, Kedgaon, Kinwat, Kolhapur, Kopargaon, Kurduwadi, Kurla, Lasalgaon, Latur, Lokmanya Tilak Terminus, Malad, Lonand, Lonavia, Lower Parel, Malkapur, Manmad, Manwath Road, Marine Lines, Matunga, Miraj, Mudkhed, Mumbai Mumbra, Murtajapur, Central, Nagarsol, Nagpur, Nandgaon, Nandura, Narkher, Nasik Osmanabad, Road, Pachora, Palghar, Pandharpur, Panvel, Parbhani, Parel, Parli Vaijnath, Partur, Prabhadevi, Pulgaon, Pune Jn., Purna, Raver, Rotegaon, Sainagar Shirdi, Sandhurst Road, Sangli, Satara, Savda, Selu, Sewagram, Shahad, Shegaon, Shivaji Nagar Pune, Solapur, Talegaon, Thakurli, Thane, Titvala, Tumsar Road, Umri, Uruli, Vadala Road, Vidyavihar, Vikhroli, Wadsa, Wardha,

		Washim , Wathar, Nandurbar, Phaltan
Madhya Pradesh	80	Akodia, Amla, Anuppur, Ashoknagar, Balaghat, Banapura, Bargawan, Beohari, Berchha, Betul, Bhind, Bhopal, Bijuri, Bina, BiyavraRajgarh, Chhindwara, Dabra, Damoh, Datia, Dewas, Gadarwara, Ganjbasoda, Ghoradongri, Guna, Gwalior, Harda, Harpalpur, Hoshangabad, Indore, Itarsi Jn., Jabalpur, Junnor Deo, Kareli, Katni Jn, Katni Murwara, Katni South, Khachrod, Khajuraho, Khandwa, Khirkiya, LaxmiBai Nagar, Maihar, Maksi, Mandlafort, Mandsaur, MCS Chhatarpur, Meghnagar, Morena, Multai, Nagda, Nainpur, Narsinghpur, Neemuch, Nepanagar, Orchha, Pandhurna, Pipariya, Ratlam, Rewa, Ruthiyai, Sanchi, Sant Hirdaram Nagar, Satna, Saugor, Sehore, Seoni, Shahdol, Shajapur, Shamgarh, Sheopur Kalan, Shivpuri, Shridham, Shujalpur, Sihora Road, Singrauli, Tikamgarh, Ujjain, Umaria, Vidisha, Vikramgarh Alot

The details of allocation of funds for development and maintenance of stations are maintained Zonal Railway-wise under Plan Head-53 'Customer Amenities' and not work-wise or Station-wise or State wise. The state of Jharkhand is covered by three zones viz. Eastern Railway, East Central Railway and South Eastern Railway. The allocation for the financial year 2024-25 for these zones is Rs 1626 Crores.

The state of Maharashtra is covered by four zones viz. Central Railway, South Central Railway, South East Central Railway and Western Railway. The allocation for the financial year 2024-25 for these zones is Rs 4406 Crores.

The state of Madhya Pradesh is covered by seven zones viz. Central Railway, East Central Railway, North Central Railway, South Central Railway, South East Central Railway, Western Railway and West Central Railway. The allocation for the financial year 2024-25 for these zones is Rs 6339 Crores.

With a view to provide greater accommodation for the passengers using General and non-AC Sleeper Coaches, the extant policy regarding composition of Mail/Express trains provides for 12 (Twelve) General class & Sleeper class non-AC coaches and 08 (Eight) AC-Coaches, in a train of 22 coaches, thereby providing greater accommodation for the passengers using General and non-AC Sleeper Coaches. Moreover, to provide greater accommodation for passengers travelling in unreserved coaches, more than 600 General Class coaches have been attached, in the Mail/Express trains operating with LHB (Linke Hofmann Busch) coaches, during the current financial year. This includes 25 General Class coaches attached in trains owned by West Central Railway. Besides, attachment of coaches in trains is an ongoing process on Indian Railways, subject to traffic justification, operational feasibility, resource availability, etc.

* * * * *