GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †877 TO BE ANSWERED ON 26th JULY, 2024

SETTING UP OF MEDICAL COLLEGE IN SHAHJAHANPUR

†877. SHRI ARUN KUMAR SAGAR:

Will the **Minister of HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the places where medical colleges have been set up in the country, State/UT-wise and location-wise;
- (b) whether the Government has taken/proposes to take any steps to set up medical colleges in the country, State/UT-wise; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof particularly in Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe dominated Shahjahanpur Parliamentary Constituency in the State of Uttar Pradesh?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SMT. ANUPRIYA PATEL)

(a) to (c): The Ministry of Health & Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals' with preference to underserved areas and aspirational districts, where there is no existing Government or private medical college. The fund sharing mechanism between the Centre and State Governments is in the ratio of 90:10 for North Eastern and Special Category States, and 60:40 for others. Under the Scheme, 157 Government medical colleges have been approved in three phases. Out of these, 109 medical colleges have become functional. The phase wise details of medical colleges approved in the country are at Annexure. Under the scheme, 27 medical colleges have been approved in Uttar Pradesh including 01 medical college at Shahjahanpur district, out of which 13 are functional.

Government Medical College(GMC), Shahjahanpur was approved under Phase-I of the Scheme in the year 2015 at a cost of Rs.189 crores to be shared between Centre and State Government in the ratio of 60:40. Entire Central Share of Rs.113.40 crore has been released to Government of Uttar Pradesh. The college became functional with intake capacity of 100 MBBS seats in 2019.

Annexure referred to in reply to parts (a) to (c) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 877 for answer on 26.07.2024

State-wise details of 157 Medical Colleges approved under the Centrally Sponsored scheme for 'Establishment of new medical colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals'

S.No	State/UT	No. of colleges	Districts	
			Phase-I (58)	
1	A & N Islands	1	Port Blair	
2	Arunachal Pradesh	1	Naharlagun	
3	Assam	4	Dhubri, Nagaon, North Lakhimpur, Diphu	
4	Bihar	3	Purnia, Saran (Chhapara), Samastipur	
5	Chhattisgarh	2	Rajnandgaon, Sarguja	
6	Himachal Pradesh	3	Chamba, Hamirpur, Nahan (Sirmour)	
7	Haryana	1	Bhiwani	
8	Jharkhand	3	Dumka, Hazaribagh, Palamu (Daltonganj)	
9	Jammu & Kashmir	5	Anantnag, Baramulla, Rajouri, Doda, Kathua	
10	Madhya Pradesh	7	Datia, Khandwa, Ratlam, Shahdol, Vidisha, Chindwara, Shivpuri	
11	Maharashtra	1	Gondia	
12	Meghalaya	1	West Garo Hills (Tura)	
13	Mizoram	1	Falkawn	
14	Nagaland	1	Naga Hospital (Kohima)	
15	Odisha	5	Balasore, Baripada (Mayurbhanj), Bolangir, Koraput, Puri	
16	Punjab	1	SAS Nagar	
17	Rajasthan	7	Barmer, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Churu, Dungarpur, Pali, Sikar	
18	Uttar Pradesh	5	Basti, Faizabad, Firozabad, Shahjahanpur, Bahraich	
19	Uttarakhand	1	Almora	
20	West Bengal	5	Birbhum (Rampur Hat), Cooch Behar, Diamond Harbour, Purulia, Raiganj (North Dinajpur)	
Phase –II (24)				
1	Bihar	5	Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Siwan, Buxar, Jamui	
2	Jharkhand	2	Koderma, Chaibasa (Singhbhum)	
3	Madhya Pradesh	1	Satna	
4	Odisha	1	Jajpur	
5	Rajasthan	1	Dholpur	
6	Uttar Pradesh	8	Etah, Hardoi, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur, Siddharthnagar (Domariyaganj), Deoria, Ghazipur, Mirzapur	
7	West Bengal	5	Barasat, Uluberia, Arambagh, Jhargram, Tamluk	
8	Sikkim	1	Gangtok	
Phase-III (75)				
1	Andhra Pradesh	3	Piduguralla, Paderu, Machilipatnam	
2	Assam	1	Kokrajhar	
3	Chhattisgarh	3	Korba, Mahasamund, Kanker	
4	Gujarat	5	Narmada, Navsari, Panchmahal, Porbandar, Morbi	
5	Jammu & Kashmir	2	Udhampur, Handwara (Distt. Kupwara)	

S.No	State/UT	No. of colleges	Districts
6	Karnataka	4	Chikkamagaluru, Haveri, Yadgiri, Chikkaballapura
7	Ladakh	1	Leh
8	Madhya Pradesh	6	Rajgarh, Mandla, Neemuch, Mandsaur, Sheopur, Singrauli
9	Maharashtra	1	Nandurbar
10	Manipur	1	Churachandpur
11	Nagaland	1	Mon
12	Odisha	1	Kalahandi
13	Punjab	2	Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur
14	Rajasthan	15	Alwar, Baran, Bansawara, Chittorgarh, Jaisalmer, Karauli, Nagaur, Shri Ganganagar, Sirohi, Bundi, SawaiMadhopur, Tonk, Hanumangarh, Jhunjhunu, Dausa
15	Uttarakhand	3	Rudrapur (Distt. Udham Singh Nagar), Pithoragarh, Haridwar
16	Uttar Pradesh	14	Bijnaur, Kushinagar, Sultanpur, Gonda, Lalitpur, Lakhimpur Kheri, Chandauli, Bulandshahar, Sonbhadra, Pilibhit, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Amethi
17	Tamil Nadu	11	Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Ramanathapuram, Namakkal, Dindigul, Virudhunagar, Krishnagiri, Tiruvallur, Nagapattinam, Ariyalur, Kallakurichi
18	West Bengal	1	Jalpaiguri