GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO 868 TO BE ANSWERED ON 26.07.2024

ANGANWADI BUILDINGS IN ANDHRA PRADESH

- 868. SHRI PRABHAKAR REDDY VEMIREDDY:
 - Will the Minister of WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:
- (a) whether it is true that 75% of Anganwadis in 2023 were to be constructed by Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (MGNREGS) workers;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of Anganwadis which do not have permanent building in Andhra Pradesh, district-wise, with a particular reference to Nellore; and
- (d) the number of Anganwadi buildings which were constructed in Andhra Pradesh last year, district-wise along with the target set for construction of the same for the year 2024-25?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT (SHRIMATI ANNPURNA DEVI)

- (a) & (b): Under Mission Saksham Anganwadi and Poshan 2.0, there is a provision of construction of 50000 AWC buildings over a period of five years @10000 AWCs per year. The cost norms for construction of Anganwadi Centres in convergence with MGNREGS is Rs.12 Lakh per AWC wherein Rs.8.00 Lakh is provided under MGNREGS, Rs.2.00 Lakh under 15th FC (or any other untied funds) and Rs.2.00 Lakh by MWCD per AWC to be shared between Centre and States/UTs in the prescribed cost sharing ratio.
- (c) & (d): As per the information provided by the State Government of Andhra Pradesh, 23,149 Anganwadi Centers do not have permanent buildings in Andhra Pradesh. The district-wise information is placed at Annexure-I. Construction of 360 Anganwadi Buildings was completed during 2023-24. The details are placed at Annexure-II.

Under Pradhan Mantri Janjati Adivasi Nyaya Maha Abhiyan (PM-JANMAN), Ministry has approved construction of 170 AWCs to State Government of Andhra Pradesh during 2023-24.

Saksham Anganwadi and Poshan 2.0 is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme and the implementation of the scheme falls under the ambit of State Government/UT Administration. Government of India constantly monitors and reviews the scheme and its components. The Scheme is implemented by the States/UTs. The Central Government is responsible only for policy and planning and the State Governments are responsible for day to day program implementation and all operational aspects of the scheme.

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 868 FOR 26.07.2024 REGARDING "ANGANWADI BUILDINGS IN ANDHRA PRADESH" ASKED BY SHRI PRABHAKAR REDDY VEMIREDDY:

DISTRICT-WISE INFORMATION OF ANGANWADI CENTERS FUNCTIONING IN RENTED BUILDINGS

S.No.	Name of the District	Number of Operational/ Functional AWCs	Number of AWCs functioning in Rented Premises
1	Srikakulam	3358	1347
2	Manyam	2064	1203
3	Vizianagaram	2499	1234
4	Alluri Sitarama Raju	3214	1536
5	Anakapalli	1908	620
6	Visakhapatnam	776	220
7	Dr.B.R.Ambedkar Konaseema	1726	831
8	Kakinada	1986	1074
9	East Godavari	1556	632
10	West Godavari	1626	629
11	Eluru	2225	849
12	Krishna	1707	454
13	NTR	1475	652
14	Guntur	1480	816
15	Palnadu	2031	1054
16	Bapatla	1888	807
17	Prakasam	2903	1151
18	SPSR Nellore	2934	1162
19	Tirupati	2492	640
20	Chittoor	2420	613
21	Annamayya	2275	804
22	YSR	2389	936
23	Kurnool	1886	908
24	Nandyal	1663	804
25	Ananthapuramu	2302	928
26	Sri Satya Sai	2824	1245
Grand Total		55607	23149

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (d) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 868 FOR 26.07.2024 REGARDING "ANGANWADI BUILDINGS IN ANDHRA PRADESH" ASKED BY SHRI PRABHAKAR REDDY VEMIREDDY:

Completed Anganwadi Centers in F.Y 2023-24

Completed Anganwadi Centers in F.Y 2023-24				
SI. No.	Name of the New Districts	Completed AWCs		
		RIDF-23	RIDF-24	
1	Srikakulam	4	10	
2	Manyam	2	2	
3	Vizianagaram	4	7	
4	Alluri Sitarama Raju	1	0	
5	Visakhapatnam	2	0	
6	Anakapalli	3	12	
7	Konaseema	1	6	
8	Kakinada	4	5	
9	East Godavari	5	17	
10	West Godavari	6	20	
11	Eluru	10	8	
12	Krishna	0	13	
13	NTR	2	6	
14	Guntur	0	3	
15	Palnadu	4	22	
16	Bapatla	2	5	
17	Prakasam	9	20	
18	SPS Nellore	12	21	
19	Tirupathi	3	5	
20	Chittoor	5	12	
21	Annamayya	1	4	
22	YSR Kadapa	10	23	
23	Kurnool	0	11	
24	Nandyal	3	13	
25	Ananthapuram	0	13	
26	Sri Satyasai	7	2	
	Total	100	260	