# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

Lok Sabha

## UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.: 483 (TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 25th July 2024)

### PROPOSED NAMING OF AIRPORTS

### 483. SHRI MATHESWARAN V S Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION

be pleased to state:-

- (a) the details of requests received from various State Governments regarding naming of Airport and the proposed name by the State Government, airport-wise; and
- (b) the number of requests regarding naming of Airport pending with the Ministry for more than one year?

#### **ANSWER**

## Minister of State in the Ministry of CIVIL AVIATION (Shri Murlidhar Mohol)

(a) & (b): In general, the airports are known by the name of the city where they are located, unless another specific name is proposed by the respective State Government supported by a resolution passed in the State Legislative Assembly, which is then considered in consultation with other Ministries/Departments and then sent to the Union Cabinet for final approval. As per the records available, the details of requests received from State Governments are placed at Annexure-I.

\*\*\*\*\*

### Annexure-I to Lok Sabha Un-starred Q. No. 483 on "Proposed Naming of Airports"

S. No.	State / UT	Present Airport Name	Proposed Name
1	Andhra Pradesh	Orvakal Airport,	Uyyalawasa Narasimha Reddy Airport,
		Kurnool	Kurnool
		Vijayawada Airport	Nandamuri Taraka Ramarao Airport, Amaravathi
		Tirupati Airport	Sri Venkateswara Airport, Tirupathi
2	Bihar	Darbhanga Airport	Vidyapati Airport, Darbhanga
3	Haryana	Hisar Airport	Maharaja Agrasen Airport, Hisar
4	Karnataka	Vijayapura Airport	Jagajyothi Basaveshwara Airport
		Hubballi Airport	Krantiveera Sangolli Rayanna Airport
		Belagavi Airport	Kitturu Rani Chennamma Airport
		Shivamogga Airport	Rashtrakavi Dr. K.V. Puttappa (Kuvempu) Airport
5	Madhya Pradesh	Jabalpur Airport	Veerangna Rani Durgavati Airport, Jabalpur
6	Maharashtra	Kolhapur Airport	Chhatrapati Rajaram Maharaj Airport, Kolhapur
		Shirdi Airport	Shree Sai Baba International Airport, Shirdi
		Sindhudurg Airport	Br. Nath Pai Airport
		Aurangabad Airport	Chhatrapati Sambhaji Maharaj Airport, Aurangabad
		Navi Mumbai Airport	Loknete D. B. Patil Navi Mumbai Airport
7	Manipur	Imphal Airport	Bir Tikendrajit International Airport (
8	Punjab	Civil Air Terminal, Adampur Airport	Sri Guru Ravidas Ji Civil Terminal, Adampur
9	Uttarakhand	Jolly Grant Airport, Dehradun	Atal Bihari Vajpayee Airport, Dehradun (Resolution date: December, 2018)
		Civil Air Terminal, Agra	Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Civil
10	Uttar Pradesh	Airport	Terminal, Agra
		Civil Air Terminal, Gorakhpur Airport	Mahayogi Gorakhnath Civil Terminal, Gorakhpur Agra
		Civil Air Terminal, Bareilly airport	Nath Nagri Civil Terminal, Bareilly
		Civil Air Terminal, Kanpur (Chakeri) Airport	Shri Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Civil Terminal, Kanpur