GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 386 ANSWERED ON 24/07/2024

GREEN SOLAR CITIES

386. DR. KIRSAN NAMDEO

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has taken any decision for developing green solar cities in Maharashtra;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, district-wise; and;
- (c) the criteria fixed by the Government for identification of these cities along with the financial assistance earmarked for the said purpose?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS, & FOOD AND PUBLIC DISTRIBUTION

(SHRI PRALHAD JOSHI)

(a) to (c) The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) has requested each State /Union Territory to select at-least one city to be developed as solar city. A concept note on developing solar city was circulated to the States/UTs with a request to finalise an action plan for development of the cities as identified as solar cities and implement the plan in a time bound manner. There is no separate fund allocation for solar city programme and the funds available under the different existing schemes can be utilized for development of solar cities. So far, 27 States/UTs have identified solar cities in their respective States/UTs. The State/UT wise list of their cities is placed as **Annexure.**

Annexure referred in reply of Lok Sabha unstarred question no. 386 to be answered on 24.07.2024.

Solar City identified by respective State/UT

S.No.	Identified Solar City	State/UT
1	Majuli	Assam
2	Bodh Gaya	Bihar
3	Rajgir	Bihar
4	Vaishali	Bihar
5	New Raipur	Chhattisgarh
6	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
7	NDMC	Delhi
8	Dwarka	Gujarat
9	Panchkula	Haryana
10	Shimla	Himachal Pradesh
11	Giridih	Jharkhand
12	Bidar	Karnataka
13	Hospet in Bellary	Karnataka
14	Thiruvananthapuram	Kerala
15	Sanchi	Madhya Pradesh
16	TURA Town of West Garo Hills	Meghalaya
17	Bhubaneswar	Odisha
18	Jaisalmer	Rajasthan
19	Pushkar	Rajasthan
20	Ayodhya	Uttar Pradesh
21	Prayagraj	Uttar Pradesh
22	Dehradoon	Uttarakhand
23	Prantik in Birbhum, Shantiniketan	West Bengal
24	Shaheed Dweep	Andaman and Nicobar
25	Amritsar	Punjab
26	Jorethang	Sikkim
27	Udaipur Town	Tripura
28	Saitual	Mizoram
29	Diu city	DNH and DD
30	Damanwada Panchayat	DNH and DD
31	Panjim	Goa
32	Dimapur	Nagaland
33	Kohima	Nagaland
34	Jammu	Jammu and Kashmir