GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 348 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.07.2024

AMRIT BHARAT STATION SCHEME IN BHAGALPUR PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY

348. SHRI AJAY KUMAR MANDAL:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has taken any steps for the development of railway stations under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS) in the State of Bihar, if so, the details thereof including the names of such stations and the amount sanctioned;
- (b) whether the Government has monitored the status of implementation of the development works undertaken under ABSS in Bhagalpur and Naugachia railway stations in Bhagalpur Parliamentary constituency, if so, the details thereof including the proposed date of completion;
- (c) whether the Government has prepared the list of stations to be developed under ABSS in the second phase in the State of Bihar, if so, the station-wise details thereof; and
- (d) whether the Government is aware that several passenger amenities and development works completed in railway stations in Bhagalpur Parliament constituency are yet to be inaugurated, if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (d) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 348 BY SHRI AJAY KUMAR MANDAL TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 24.07.2024 REGARDING AMRIT BHARAT STATION SCHEME IN BHAGALPUR PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY

(a) to (d) The Amrit Bharat Station Scheme has been launched for development of Railway stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks etc., as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centres at the station in the long term.

So far 1324 station have been identified under this scheme out of which 92 stations including Bhagalpur and Naugachia stations are located in the State of Bihar. Tenders have been awarded at both stations.

At Bhagalpur station the works of improvement to buildings, development of circulating area, toilets, lifts, waiting halls, 12m wide foot over bridge etc. have been taken up. At Naugachia station the works of development of circulating area, cover over platform at platform no. 1, 12m wide foot over bridge at platform no. 1, porch construction at main entry etc. have been taken up.

However, development/redevelopment/upgradation of Railway Stations is complex in nature involving safety of passengers & trains and requires various statutory clearances such as fire clearance, heritage, tree cutting, air-port clearance etc. The progress also gets affected due to brown field related challenges such as shifting of utilities, (involving water/sewage lines, optical fibre cables, gas pipe lines, power/signal cables etc.,) infringements, operation of trains without hindering passenger movement, speed restrictions due to works carried out in close proximity of high voltage power lines etc. and these factors affect the completion time. Therefore, no time frame can be indicated at this stage.

The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the State of Bihar are as following:

State	No. of Stations	Name of Stations
Bihar	92	Anugraha Narayan Road, Ara, Bakhtiyarpur, Banka, Banmankhi, Bapudham Motihari, Barauni, Barh, Barsoi Jn, Begusarai, Bettiah, Bhabua Road, Bhagalpur, Bhagwanpur, Bihar Sharif, Bihiya,

Bikramgani, Buxar, Chausa, Chhapra, Dalsingh Sarai, Darbhanga, Dauram Madhepura, Dehri On Sone, Dholi, Dighwara, Dumraon, Durgauti, Fatuha, Gaya, Ghorasahan, Guraru, Hajipur Jn, Jamalpur, Jamui, Janakpur Road, Jaynagar, Jehanabad, Road, Kahalgaon, Karhagola Khagaria Jn, Kishanganj, Kudra, Labha, Laheria Sarai. Lakhminia, Luckeesarai, Madhubani, Maheshkhunt, Mairwa, Mansi Jn, Munger, Nabinagar Narkatiagani. Muzaffarpur, Road, Naugachia, Paharpur, Piro, Pirpainti, Rafiganj, Raghunathpur, Rajendra Nagar, Rajgir, Ram Dayalu Nagar, Raxaul, Sabaur, Sagauli, Saharsa, Sahibpur Kamal, Sakri, Salauna, Salmari, Samastipur, Sasaram, Shahpur Patoree, Shivanarayanpur, Simri Bakhtiyarpur, Simultala, Sitamarhi, Siwan, Sonpur Jn., Sultanganj, Supaul, Taregna, Thakurganj, Thawe, Arariya Court, Chakia, Nawadah, Motipur, Ekma, Mashrakh

Upgradation/modernization and commissioning of stations on Indian Railways is a continuous and on-going process and works in this regard are undertaken as per requirement, subject to inter-se priority and availability of funds.

The details of allocation of funds for development and maintenance of stations are maintained zonal Railway-wise and not station-wise or

state-wise. There are 04 zones, namely, Eastern Railway, Northeast Frontier Railway, North Eastern Railway and East Central Railway, which cater to the State of Bihar. During the last financial Year i.e. in 2023-24, a total amount of ₹1420.77 cr have been allocated under Plan Head-53 for the said 04 zones.
