GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PORTS, SHIPPING ANS WATERWAYS LOK SHABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO- 3150

ANSWERED ON - 09/08/2024

LIGHTHOUSES IN PPP MODE

3150. SHRI CHUDASAMA RAJESHBHAI NARANBHAI:

SHRI VIJAY BAGHEL:

SHRI ANURAG SINGH THAKUR:

DR. HEMANT VISHNU SAVARA:

Will the Minister of PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS be please to state: पत्तन, पोत परिवहन और जलमार्ग मंत्री

- (a) whether the Government plans to utilise lighthouses as tourist destinations;
- (b) if so, the details thereof including the number of lighthouses identified for this purpose and their locations including those in PPP mode;
- (c) the steps taken/proposed to be taken by the Government to develop the necessary infrastructure and facilities at these lighthouses for tourism;
- (d) whether the Government has any plan to involve private sector participation in the development and management of lighthouse tourism; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS (SHRI SARBANANDA SONOWAL)

- (a) Yes.
- (b) 75 lighthouses have been identified and developed for tourism purposes in 10 States/Union Territories. State-wise list of 75 lighthouses is attached as Annexure-I. Mahabalipuram lighthouse in Tamil Nadu has been developed in PPP mode for tourism purposes.
- (c) Infrastructure facilities like museum, amphi-theatre, open air theatre, cafeteria, children play area, gazebo, landscaping and lifts have been developed for tourism purposes in selected lighthouses.
- (d) & (e) There is no such proposal under consideration in this Ministry.

Annexure - I

State-wise list of 75 Lighthouses developed for tourism purposes

S. No.	State/ UT	Name of Lighthouse
1	Gujarat	Mandvi, Rawalpir, Samiyani, Okha, Kachhigarh, Porbandar, Mangrol, Jaffrabad, Jegri, Alang, Ghogha, Hazira, ValsadKhadi, Gopnath, Veraval, Dwarka, Umargaon
2	Goa and Karnataka	Aguda, Tadri, Bhatkal, Kaup, Surathkal, Kundapur
3	Kerala	Kannur, Ponnani, Chetwai, Vypin, Alappuzha, Valiyazhikkal, Thangesserili, Anjengo, Vizhinnjam, Azokode, Kadalur Point
4	Tamil Nadu	Kanniyakumari, Kuthankuli, Manappad, Kilakkari, Dhanushkodi, Pamban, Karaikkal, Mallipattinam, Kodikkarai, Nagapattinam, Poompohar, Pulicat, Muttom Point, Mahabalipuram, Chennai
5	Andhra Pradesh	Ramayapatnam, Machilipatnam, Antervedi, Sacramento, Vakalpudi, Santapalli, Kalingapatnam, Baruva, Vodarevu, Pudimadaka
6	Odisha and West Bengal	Gopalpur, Puri, Chandrabhaga, Paradip, False Point, Tajpur, Dariyapur, Sagar Island
7	Maharashtra	Uttan Point, Korlai Fort, Jaigarh, Ratnagiri, Vengurla Point, Kelshi
8	Andaman and Nicobar Islands	North Point, Port Cornwallis
