GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2760 TO BE ANSWERED ON 07.08.2024

REDEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATIONS IN ANDHRA PRADESH UNDER ABSS

2760. SHRI PRABHAKAR REDDY VEMIREDDY: SHRI APPALANAIDU KALISETTI:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of railway stations selected for redevelopment under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in Andhra Pradesh, district-wise, especially in the Vizianagaram and Nellore constituency;
- (b) the total funds allocated and disbursed for the development of these stations under the said Scheme, particularly in Vizianagaram and Nellore district;
- (c) the specific projects approved for redevelopment under this scheme in Vizianagaram and Nellore district, including their current status and progress made to date;
- (d) the challenges or delays encountered in the execution of these redevelopment projects in Vizianagaram, and Nellore and the reasons thereof; and
- (e) whether there are plans to include additional stations from the Vizianagaram and Nellore constituency under the said Scheme in the future and if so, details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) to (e) A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2760 BY SHRI PRABHAKAR REDDY VEMIREDDY AND SHRI APPALANAIDU KALISETTI TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 07.08.2024 REGARDING REDEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY STATIONS IN ANDHRA PRADESH UNDER ABSS

(a) to (e) Ministry of Railways has launched 'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' for development of Railway stations on Indian Railways. This scheme envisages development of stations on a continuous basis with a long-term approach.

It involves preparation of Master Plans and their implementation in phases to improve the amenities at the stations like improvement of station access, circulating areas, waiting halls, toilets, lift/escalators as necessary, platform surfacing and cover over platform, cleanliness, free Wi-Fi, kiosks for local products through schemes like 'One Station One Product', better passenger information systems, Executive Lounges, nominated spaces for business meetings, landscaping etc. keeping in view the necessity at each station.

The scheme also envisages improvement of building, integrating the station with both sides of the city, multimodal integration, amenities for Divyangjans, sustainable and environment friendly solutions, provision of ballastless tracks etc., as per necessity, phasing and feasibility and creation of city centres at the station in the long term.

So far, 1324 stations have been selected under this scheme based on proposals received from Zonal Railways, stations located in major cities and towns. Out of 1324 stations, 73 stations in the State of Andhra Pradesh, including Bobbili Jn, Chipurupalli, Kottavalasa and Vizianagaram Jn stations in Vizianagaram parliamentary constituency and Nellore station in Nellore parliamentary constituency have been identified for development under the scheme. Tenders have been awarded for the works at Bobbili Jn, Chipurupalli, Kottavalasa, Vizianagaram Jn and Nellore stations and works have started.

The names of stations identified for development under Amrit Bharat Station Scheme in the State of Andhra Pradesh are as below:

State	No. of Stations	Name of Stations
Andhra Pradesh	73	Adoni, Anakapalle, Anantapur, Anaparthi, Araku, Bapatla, Bhimavaram Town, Bobbili Jn, Chipurupalli, Chirala, Chittoor, Cuddapah, Cumbum, Dharmavaram, Dhone, Donakonda, Duvvada, Elamanchili , Eluru, Giddalur, Gooty, Gudivada , Gudur, Gunadala, Guntur, Hindupur, Ichchpuram, Kadiri, Kakinada Town, Kottavalasa, Kuppam, Kurnool city , Macherla, Machilipatnam, Madanapalli Road, Mangalagiri, Markapuram Road, Matralayam Road, Nadikude Jn, Nandyal, Narasaraopet, Narsapur, Naupada Jn, Nellore, Nidadavolu, Ongole, Pakala, Palasa, Parvatipuram, Piduguralla, Piler, Rajampet, Rajamundry, Rayanapadu, Renigunta, Repalle, Samalkot, Sattenapalle, Satya Sai Prashati Nilayam, Simhachalam, Singaraykonda, Sri Kalahasti, Srikakulam Road, Sullurpeta, Tadepalligudem, Tadipatri, Tenali, Tirupati, Tuni, Vijayawada, Vinukonda, Vishakhapatnam, Vizianagaram Jn.

The details of allocation for development and maintenance of stations including for Amrit Bharat Station Scheme are maintained Zonal Railway-wise under Plan Head-53 'Customer Amenities' and not station-wise or State-wise. Total fund allocated under Plan Head-53 to Zonal Railways for the current Financial Year i.e. in 2024-25, is ₹15510.75 crores. There are 04 zones, namely, East Coast Railway, Southern Railway, South Central Railway and South Western Railway, which cater to the State of Andhra Pradesh. During the current Financial Year a total amount of ₹3804.50 cr has been allocated to the said 04 zones.

Development/redevelopment/upgradation of Railway Stations is complex in nature involving safety of passengers & trains and requires various statutory clearances such as fire clearance, heritage, tree cutting, air-port clearance etc. The progress also gets affected due to brown field related challenges such as shifting of utilities, (involving water/sewage lines, optical fibre cables, gas pipe lines, power/signal cables etc.,) infringements, operation of trains without hindering passenger movement, speed restrictions due to works carried out in close proximity of high voltage power lines etc. and these factors affect the completion time. Therefore, no time frame can be indicated at this stage.

Further upgradation/development/redevelopment of stations on Indian Railways is a continuous and on-going process and works in this regard are undertaken as per requirement, subject to inter-se priority and availability of funds. However, priority for upgradation/development/redevelopment of stations is accorded to higher category of station over lower category of station while sanctioning and executing the work.
