## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 237 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.07.2024

### INDIAN RAILWAY ORGANISATION FOR ALTERNATE FUEL (IROAF)

#### **237. SHRI MANOJ TIWARI:**

DR. JAYANTA KUMAR ROY:

**SMT. SANGEETA KUMARI SINGH DEO:** 

SHRI BRIJMOHAN AGRAWAL:

SMT. SMITA UDAY WAGH:

**SHRI GANESH SINGH:** 

**DR. NISHIKANT DUBEY:** 

SHRI CHUDASAMA RAJESHBHAI NARANBHAI:

**SHRI BHARTRUHARI MAHTAB:** 

SHRI NABA CHARAN MAJHI:

#### Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is aware of the progress made by the Indian Railways Organisation for Alternate Fuel (IROAF) in expanding new sources of environment friendly fuels and energy in Indian Railways;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the 'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' promotes the use of renewable energy in railway stations; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof alongwith the details of State-wise status of the 100% electrification initiative of the Ministry of Railways?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF RAILWAYS, INFORMATION & BROADCASTING AND ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

#### (SHRI ASHWINI VAISHNAW)

(a) & (b): IROAF was formed to explore Alternate Fuel in Indian

Contd.2/...

Railways. It has promoted use of blended Bio-Diesel and partial substitution of Diesel with CNG and LNG for traction purpose. A pilot project for retro-fitment of Hydrogen fuel cell on Diesel Electric Multiple Unit (DEMU) rake for traction purpose has also been taken up. These initiatives are now being handled by Northern Railway.

(c) & (d):'Amrit Bharat Station Scheme' envisages gradual shifting to sustainable and environmental friendly solution as per availability of funds and condition of existing assets which includes use of renewable energy.

100% Electrification of Broad Gauge network has been achieved in the following State/Union Territory, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, J&K, Jharkhand, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand.

\*\*\*\*