GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2270 ANSWERED ON 05.08.2024

STUDY OF INDIGENOUS CULTURE

2270. DR. INDRA HANG SUBBA:

Will the Minister of CULTURE be pleased to state:

the number of centres established for study of indigenous culture and preservation of traditional knowledge during the last ten years?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF CULTURE AND TOURISM (SHRI GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

To protect, promote and preserve various forms of folk art and culture throughout the country including indigenous culture, the Government of India has set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) in the country during the year 1985-86 with headquarters at Patiala, Nagpur, Udaipur, Prayagraj, Kolkata, Dimapur and Thanjavur. These ZCCs organize various cultural activities and programmes on regular basis in the country for which annual grant-in-aid is provided to them.

Further, to preserve traditional knowledge, the Ministry of Culture has set up Regional Centres and Project Offices under its various autonomous bodies which inter-alia work for the upliftment and preservation of the culture and heritage including indigenous culture.

Such Centres set up during the last 10 years are as under:

SI. No.	Autonomous Body	Regional Centres/ ProjectOffices	Year of Establishment
i.	Centre for Cultural	Damoh	2022
	Resources and Training		
ii.	National School of	Varanasi	2018
	Drama	Srinagar	2021
iii.	Indira Gandhi National	Puducherry	2017
	Centre for the Arts	Ranchi	2017
		Guwahati	2017
		Thrissur	2018
		Vadodara	2018
		Goa	2021
iv.	Lalit Kala Akademi	Ahmedabad	2018
		Agartala	2018
V.	Sangeet Natak Akademi	Agartala	2016
		(Documentation Centre)	
		JharkhandChandankiyari,	2018
		Chhau Kendra	
vi.	Sahitya Akademi	Oral and Tribal Literature Centre in Delhi	2014
