GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2071

ANSWERED ON- 05.08.2024

IITs & NITs IN NE REGION

2071. Dr. Indra Hang Subba:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Central Universities established in last ten years;
- (b) the details of the IITs/NITs in the North Eastern region in last ten years; and
- (c) the number of centres established for study of indigenous culture and preservation of traditional knowledge in last ten years?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINSTRY OF EDUCATION (DR. SUKANTA MAJUMDAR)

- (a) Eight Central Universities have been established during the last 10 years. Central University of Andhra Pradesh (AP), Anantapur AP, Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh, Vijayanagaram AP, the Sindhu Central University Ladakh, Sammakka Sarakka Central Tribal University Telangana and Mahatma Gandhi Central University Motihari Bihar have been established and three Deemed to be Universities such as National Sanskrit University Tirupati AP, Central Sanskrit University Delhi, Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University Delhi have been converted into central universities.
- (b) Seven IITs were established in the last 10 years, namely IIT Tirupati, IIT Palakkad, IIT Bhilai, IIT Jammu, IIT Goa, IIT Dharwad while one institute i.e. ISM Dhanbad has been converted into IIT. At present, Thirty-one NITs and an Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology (IIEST), Shibpur are functioning in the country. Eight NITs are situated in North Eastern Region, namely NIT-Agartala, Silchar, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim.
- (c) Ministry of Education under its Central Sector Scheme "Indian Knowledge Systems" has established two IKS centers at Assam University and IIT Guwahati.
