GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1466 TO BE ANSWERED ON 31.07.2024

NEW SCHEME FOR FM RADIO STATION

1466. Shri Navaskani K.

Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of FM stations currently functioning in the State of Tamil Nadu;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to launch any scheme to set up new FM Radio stations in the country;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) the name of places identified for setting up new FM stations in the country, State/UT-wise particularly in Tamil Nadu:
- (e) whether the Government is auctioning channels in all cities of the country including Tamil Nadu under the Private FM Radio phase-III policy; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING AND PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS

(DR. L. MURUGAN)

- (a) At present, there are 15 FM stations/ relay centres of Akashvani, and 29 Pvt. FM channels functioning in the state of Tamil Nadu.
- (b) & (c) Prasar Bharti sets up FM Radio stations as per the plans approved by Government. Support of Government is provided under "BIND" scheme. Government conducts e-auctions for Private FM channels periodically.
- (d) The places for setting up new Akashvani stations sanctioned by the Ministry in 2023-24 are given state/UT wise in the Annexure.
- (e) & (f) The details of the cities in the country including state of Tamil Nadu where Government has conducted auction under Pvt. FM Phase-III Policy and FM channels currently operational are available on the Ministry's website www.mib.gov.in.

STATE/UT-WISE LIST OF PLACES FOR SETTING UP NEW AKASHVANI FM STATIONS IN THE COUNTRY

S.No.	State	District	Location
1	Andhra Pradesh	Vizianagaram	Vizianagaram
2	Andhra Pradesh	Kurnool	Nandyal
3	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam	Chintapalle
4	Bihar	Darbhanga	Darbhanga
5	Bihar	Gopalganj	Gopalganj
6	Bihar	Katihar	Katihar
7	Bihar	Saharsa	Saharsa
8	Bihar	East Champaran	Motihari
9	Chhattisgarh	Bastar	Jagdalpur
10	Chhattisgarh	Dakshin Bastar Dantewada	Bailadila
11	Chhattisgarh	Kondagaon	Kondagaon
12	Chhattisgarh	Narayanpur	Narayanpur
13	Chhattisgarh	Uttar Bastar Kanker	Kanker
14	Gujarat	Devbhumi Dwarka	Devbhumi Dwarka
15	Gujarat	Kachchh	Bhuj
16	Gujarat	Patan	Radhanpur
17	Gujarat	Bhavnagar	Bhavnagar
18	Gujarat	Morbi	Morbi
19	Himachal Pradesh	Chamba	Chamba

S.No.	State	District	Location
20	Himachal Pradesh	Mandi	Sarkaghat
21	Himachal Pradesh	Mandi	Dharampur
22	Jharkhand	Pakur	Pakur
23	Jharkhand	Simdega	Simdega
24	Jharkhand	Giridih	Giridih
25	Jharkhand	Koderma	Koderma
26	Karnataka	Shimoga	Shimoga
27	Karnataka	Udupi	Udupi
28	Ladakh	Leh (Ladakh)	Leh
29	Madhya Pradesh	Singrauli	Singrauli
30	Maharashtra	Beed	Ambajogai
31	Odisha	Sundargarh	Bonaigarh
32	Odisha	Balasore	Balasore
33	Rajasthan	Sri Ganganagar	Anupgarh
34	Rajasthan	Jaisalmer	Jaisalmer
35	Rajasthan	Sikar	Sikar
36	Rajasthan	Tonk	Tonk
37	Rajasthan	Udaipur	Vallabhnagar
38	Tamil Nadu	Salem	Yercaud
39	Tamil Nadu	Thanjavur	Kumbakonam
40	Tamil Nadu	Vellore	Vellore
41	Uttar Pradesh	Farrukhabad	Farrukhabad
42	Uttar Pradesh	Etah	Etah

S.No.	State	District	Location
43	Uttar Pradesh	Hardoi	Hardoi
44	Uttar Pradesh	Basti	Basti
45	Uttarakhand	Nainital	Nainital
46	Uttarakhand	Pithoragarh	Munsyari
47	Uttarakhand	Pithoragarh	Pithoragarh
48	West Bengal	Kalimpong	Kalimpong