GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †105

ANSWERED ON- 22/07/2024

LALIT NARAYAN UNIVERSITY IN DARBHANGA PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY

†105. SHRI GOPAL JEE THAKUR

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) whether higher education and professional courses were being provided under distance learning scheme in Lalit Narayan University in Darbhanga Parliamentary Constituency in Bihar;
- (b) whether educational activities had been stopped in the said institution as inspection of the University by NAAC was not done as per schedule; and
- (c) whether there is any possibility to restart educational activities in the said institution after making inspection by NAAC?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION

(DR.SUKANTA MAJUMDAR)

(a) to (c): Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Darbhanga, Bihar is a State University established by an Act of the State Legislature. University Grants Commission (UGC) has informed that as per UGC (Open and Distance Learning) (ODL) Regulations, 2017, the University was accorded recognition for the ODL programmes from the academic year 2018-19 to 2019- 2020. No further recognition was granted to the university as it did not meet the eligibility criteria in respect of National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) and National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) for offering programmes under ODL mode/Online mode as prescribed in UGC (ODL Programmes and Online Programmes) Regulations, 2020 which is given under:

"HEI shall be accredited by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council with minimum score of 3.01 on a 4-point scale;

01

HEI shall be in the top-100 in the university category in the National Institutional Ranking Framework for at least once in the last two preceding cycles (at the time of application......):......"

As informed by NAAC, Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Bihar is accredited with (Cumulative Grade Point Average) CGPA 2.78 in its third cycle of accreditation and its accreditation is valid from 30/11/2023 to 29/11/2028.
