GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION DEPARTMENT OF SCHOOL EDUCATION & LITERACY

LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO. 1 ANSWERED ON 22.07.2024

NEW KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS IN RAJASTHAN AND KARNATAKA

*1 SHRI RAHUL KASWAN: SHRI GOVIND MAKTHAPPA KARJOL:

Will the Minister of EDUCATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the number of Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) opened during the last five years and proposed to be opened, State-wise especially in Rajasthan and Karnataka and the time by which the proposed KVs are likely to be started;
- (b) whether the Government has any proposal to open KV in Sujangarh, Churu Parliamentary Constituency, Rajasthan, if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;
- (c) the current status of establishment of new KV at Kunchiganal Village,Chitradurga District, Karnataka;
- (d) the details of funds allocated/sanctioned for establishment of new KVs in Karnataka, district-wise; and
- (e) the reasons for delay in establishment of new KV at Kunchiganal Village, Chitradurga District, Karnataka and the steps taken by the Government for early commencement of classes in these KVs?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF EDUCATION (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

(a) to (e) A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 1 RAISED BY SHRI RAHUL KASWAN AND SHRI GOVIND MAKTHAPPA KARJOL, HON'BLE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT ANSWERED ON 22.07.2024 REGARDING NEW KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS IN RAJASTHAN AND KARNATAKA.

(a) to (e) As per information received from Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS), 48 new Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) under Civil / Defence and 12 new KVs under Institute of Higher Learning (IHL) / Project Sector, including 02 KVs in Rajasthan and 02 KVs in Karnataka, have been opened throughout the country during the last five years (i.e. 2019-20, 2020-21, 2021-22, 2022-23, 2023-24 and current year 2024-25). State / UTwise details are annexed.

At present, 1253 KVs including 77 KVs in the State of Rajasthan and 52 KVs in the State of Karnataka are functioning across the country. Opening of new KVs is a continuous process. KVs are opened primarily to cater to the educational needs of the wards of transferable Central Government Employees including Defence & Paramilitary personnel, Central Autonomous Bodies, Central Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) and Central Institute of Higher Learning (IHL) by providing a common programme of education throughout the country. Proposals for opening of new KVs may be sponsored by Ministries or Departments of the Government of India / State Governments / Union Territories (UTs) Administrations, with commitment to provide requisite resources including land and temporary accommodation for setting up a new KV as per norms. The proposals are subject to approval of the competent authority as per extant procedures.

As per information received from KVS, a feasible proposal for establishment of a new KV at Kunchiganal Village, Chitradurga District, Karnataka has been received. The proposals received from the sponsoring authorities for opening of new KVs are in varying stages of being examined / processed at various levels and are subject to approval of the competent authority. No proposal for opening of a new KV at Sujangarh in Churu Parliamentary Constituency of Rajasthan has been received by KVS.

The funds are only allocated/sanctioned for establishment and construction of new KVs only on receipt of necessary approval / sanction of the Government of India.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF THE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 1 RAISED BY SHRI RAHUL KASWAN AND SHRI GOVIND MAKTHAPPA KARJOL, HON'BLE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT ANSWERED ON 22.07.2024 REGARDING NEW KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS IN RAJASTHAN AND KARNATAKA.

STATE/UT WISE DETAILS OF KENDRIYA VIDYALAYAS OPENED DURING THE LAST FIVE YEARS AND CURRENT YEAR

Year	State/UT	S. No.	Name of KV
	KVs op	ened und	er the Civil/Defence Sector
	Uttar Pradesh	1.	Bhadohi, Distt. Bhadohi
		2.	Mirzapur, Distt. Mirzapur
		3.	Kauhar, Gauriganj, Distt. Amethi
		4.	Aayer, Distt. Varanasi
		5.	Railway Idgah, Distt. Agra
		6.	39 th Bn SSB Gadnia Palia Kalan Distt. Lakhimpur Khiri
		7.	59th Bn. SSB Nanpara, Distt. Behraich
	Uttarakhand	8.	Khatima, Distt. Udham Singh Nagar
2040.00	Chhattisgarh	9.	GC CRPF Bilaspur, Distt. Bilaspur
		10.	Kondagaon, Distt. Kondagaon
	J&K	11.	Jodhpur, Distt. Doda
	Odisha	12.	Gunupur, distt. Rayagada
		13.	Anandpur, Distt. Keonjhar
	Assam	14.	210 Cobra, CRPF BN Dalgaon
		15.	N.F. Railway Rangapara, Distt. Sonitpur
	Haryana	16.	GC, CRPF, Sonepat
		17.	CRPF Kadarpur, Gurgaon
2019-20	Andhra Pradesh	18.	Kandukur Town, Distt. Prakasam
		19.	Irlapadu Village, Nadendla, Distt. Guntur
	Madhya Pradesh	20.	Anuppur, Distt. Anuppur
		21.	Shamgarh, Distt. Mandsaur
		22.	Agar-Malwa, Distt. Agar-Malwa
		23.	Alirajpur, Distt. Alirajpur
		24.	CRPF Group Centre AB Road, Nayagaon, Gwalior
	Arunachal Pradesh	25.	Daporijo, Distt. Upper Subansri
		26.	Namsai Distt. Namsai
	Jharkhand	27.	Koderma, Distt. Koderma
		28.	Sarai Kelakharsawan, Distt. Saraikela
	Rajasthan	29.	Railway Colony Bandikui, Distt. Dausa
		30.	Pratapgarh, Distt. Pratapgarh
	Tamil Nadu	31.	Udumalpet, Distt. Tiruppur
	West Bengal	32.	N.F.R. New Jalpaiguri, Distt. Jalpaiguri
		33.	GC CRPF Siliguri Distt. Darjeeling
	Karnataka	34.	Railway Yashwanthpur, Distt. Bengaluru
	Bihar	35.	205 Cobra BN CRPF Barachatti, Gaya (made functional vide KVS order dated 15.3.2024)
2020-21	Jharkhand	36.	SER Dangoaposi, Distt West Singhbhum

	Uttrakhand	38.	5 th Bn. SSB Champawat, Distt. Champawat	
U	Uttar Pradesh	39.	Madhupuri, Distt. Fatehpur	
		40.	Sumerpur, Distt. Hamirpur	
		41.	ITBP, Idiyapatti, Distt. Madurai	
	Tamilnadu	42.	ITBP Illuppaikudi Shivgangai, Distt. Shivgangai	
	Arunachal Pradesh	43.	KV Hayuliang Distt. Anjaw	
	Odisha	44.	Chhatarpur, Distt. Ganjam	
2021-22	Karnataka	45.	Sadalgah, Distt, Belagavi	
	Haryana	46.	Bilaspur, District Yamuna Nagar	
2022-23	Tripura	47.	BSF Gokulnagar, Distt-Sepahaijala	
	Himachal Pradesh	48.	Dharampur Distt. Mandi	
KVs opened under Project/Institute of Higher Learning				
	Delhi	49.	Dr. Rajendra Prasad Kendriya Vidyalaya, President Estate, New Delhi. (Special Mode)	
2019-20	Bihar	50.	IIT Patna (Bihta), Distt. Patna	
2020-21	Madhya Pradesh	51.	IIT Indore	
2021-22	Punjab	52.	IIT Ropar, Distt. Roopnagar	
	Odisha	53.	IIT Bhubneswar, Distt Khordha	
	Odisha	54.	MCL Subhadra Area Distt- Angul	
2022-23	Odisha	55.	MCL Jaggannath Area Distt- Angul	
	Gujarat	56.	Deen Dayal Port Authority Gandhi Dham, Gujarat	
	Arunchal Pradesh	57.	NIT Arunachal Pradesh, Jote Distt. Papum Pare	
2023-24	Punjab	58.	Central University of Punjab, Ghudda, Distt Bhatinda	
0004.05	Andhra Pradesh	59.	IIT Tirupati	
2024-25	Odisha	60.	NIT Rourkela	

37.

Palamu, Distt. Palamu

5th Bn. SSB Champawat,