GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 607 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20TH JULY, 2022

MOBILE NETWORK IN MAOIST AREAS

†607. SHRI BASANTA KUMAR PANDA:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the steps taken by the Government to address the problems of Mobile Network and Internet in the maoist areas of the State of Odisha; and

(b) the number of people likely to be benefited if the maoist areas of Odisha are provided with Internet and Mobile Networks facilities and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI DEVUSINH CHAUHAN)

(a) & (b) To improve the mobile network and internet connectivity, Government has decided to upgrade the 2,343 existing 2G sites under Left Wing Extremism (LWE) Phase-I project to 4G which includes 256 sites in the State of Odisha. District wise list of the no. of tower locations in Odisha State under LWE Phase-I Project is enclosed as **Annexure-I.** The project is to be completed in 12 months.

Further, LWE Phase-II project is also under implementation for covering 2,542 tower locations identified by Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) in the LWE affected areas across the 10 States. Through LWE Phase-II project 483 mobile towers (4G based) are to be installed in the state of Odisha. District wise list of the no. of tower location in Odisha State under LWE Phase-II Project is enclosed as **Annexure-II.** The people residing within the radius of about 4 Kms of the Mobile Tower likely to be benefited with the mobile network. The project was awarded in October 2021 and is to be completed in 18 months.

Annexure referred to in Part (a) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.607 for answer on 20-07-2022

Sl. No.	State	District Name	No. of Tower Locations
1.	Odisha	Angul	5
2.	Odisha	Bargarh	4
3.	Odisha	Berhampur police district	3
4.	Odisha	Bolangir	3
5.	Odisha	Boudh	7
6.	Odisha	Deogarh	6
7.	Odisha	Dhenkanal	6
8.	Odisha	Gajapati	8
9.	Odisha	Ganjam	5
10.	Odisha	Jajpur	11
11.	Odisha	Kalahandi	12
12.	Odisha	Kandhamal	24
13.	Odisha	Keonjhar	6
14.	Odisha	Koraput	27
15.	Odisha	Malkangiri	28
16.	Odisha	Mayurbhanj	9
17.	Odisha	Nabarangpur	10
18.	Odisha	Nayagarh	3
19.	Odisha	Nowrangpur	4
20.	Odisha	Nuapada	20
21.	Odisha	Rayagada	18
22.	Odisha	Rourkela Police District	11
23.	Odisha	Sambalpur	10
24.	Odisha	Sonepur	6
25.	Odisha	Sundergarh	10
		Total	256

District wise Number of Tower Locations under LWE Phase-I Project:

Annexure referred to in Part (a) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.607 for answer on 20-07-2022

Sl. No.	State	District Name	No. of Tower Locations
1.	Odisha	Baragarh	2
2.	Odisha	Boudh	2
3.	Odisha	Kalahandi	66
4.	Odisha	Kandhamal	96
5.	Odisha	Koraput	85
6.	Odisha	Malkangiri	128
7.	Odisha	Nabarangpur	22
8.	Odisha	Nuapada	49
9.	Odisha	Rayagada	33
Total			483
