GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 560 TO BE ANSWERED ON 20.07.2022

SELECTION OF ASPIRATIONAL DISTRICTS

†560. DR DHAL SINGH BISEN:

Will the Minister of **PLANNING** be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of criteria set for the selection of aspirational districts;
- (b) the total number and names of aspirational districts declared in the country, districts/State-wise;
- (c) the reasons for non-inclusion of Seoni and Balaghat districts of Madhya Pradesh in the said aspirational districts which are backward in every parameter of development; and
- (d) whether there is any plan to include Balaghat and Seoni districts in the list of aspirational districts in future?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF STATISTICS AND PROGRAMME IMPLEMENTATION; MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS

(RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

- (a) The Aspirational Districts Programme launched on 5th January 2018 by the Government of India and anchored by NITI Aayog, aims to bring transformative changes in the most under-developed districts of India called Aspirational Districts. There are 112 Aspirational Districts, across 26 States and 1 Union Territory. These were selected through a transparent process on basis of published data. List of data sets and the weight attached to them for selection of these districts is attached in Annexure I.
- (b) List of 112 Aspirational Districts is provided in Annexure-II.
- (c) As mentioned in (a), aspirational districts were selected through a transparent process on the basis of published data. As per this method, the districts which were selected as Aspirational Districts had overall lesser progress than Seoni and Balaghat districts in 2018 and as such, they have not been included.
- (d) As of now, there is no proposal/ provision to include more districts under the Aspirational Districts Programme.

Annexure – I

DATABASES	SECTOR	WEIGHT
Landless households dependent on Manual labour	Deprivation	25%
(Socio Economic Caste Census – Deprivation 7)	(25%)	
Ante natal care		7.5%
(National Health and Family Survey (NHFS) - 4)	Health & Nutrition	
Institutional delivery (NHFS-4)		7.5%
Stunting of children below 5 years (NHFS-4)	(30%)	7.5%
Wasting in children below 5 years (NHFS-4)	_	7.5%
Elementary dropout rate (Unified District Information	Education	7.5%
System for Education (U-DISE) 2015-16)	(15%)	
Adverse pupil teacher ratio (U-DISE 2015-16)		7.5%
Un-electrified households (Ministry of Power)		7.5%
Households without individual toilets	_	7.5%
(Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation)	Infra	
Un-connected PMGSY village	(30%)	7.5%
(Ministry of Rural Development)		
Rural Household without access to water	_	7.5%
(Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation)		
Total		100%

List of data sets and weights used for selection of Aspirational Districts

S. No.	State	District
1	Andhra Pradesh	Vizianagaram
2	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam
3	Andhra Pradesh	Y.S.R. Kadapa
4	Arunachal Pradesh	Namsai
5	Assam	Goalpara
6	Assam	Barpeta
7	Assam	Hailakandi
8	Assam	Baksa
9	Assam	Darrang
10	Assam	Udalguri
11	Assam	Dhubri
12	Bihar	Sitamarhi
13	Bihar	Araria
14	Bihar	Purnia
15	Bihar	Katihar
16	Bihar	Muzaffarpur
17	Bihar	Begusarai
18	Bihar	Khagaria
19	Bihar	Banka
20	Bihar	Sheikhpura
21	Bihar	Aurangabad
22	Bihar	Gaya
23	Bihar	Nawada
24	Bihar	Jamui
25	Chhattisgarh	Korba
26	Chhattisgarh	Rajnandgaon
27	Chhattisgarh	Mahasamund
28	Chhattisgarh	Kanker
29	Chhattisgarh	Narayanpur
30	Chhattisgarh	Dantewada
31	Chhattisgarh	Bijapur
32	Chhattisgarh	Bastar
33	Chhattisgarh	Kondagaon
34	Chhattisgarh	Sukma
35	Gujarat	Dahod
36	Gujarat	Narmada
37	Haryana	Mewat
38	Himachal Pradesh	Chamba
39	UT of Jammu & Kashmir	Kupwara
40	UT of Jammu & Kashmir	Baramulla
41	Jharkhand	Garhwa
42	Jharkhand	Chatra
43	Jharkhand	Giridih

State-wise list of all 112 Aspirational Districts

S. No.	State	District
44	Jharkhand	Godda
45	Jharkhand	Sahibganj
46	Jharkhand	Pakur
47	Jharkhand	Bokaro
48	Jharkhand	Lohardaga
49	Jharkhand	Purbi Singhbhum
50	Jharkhand	Palamu
51	Jharkhand	Latehar
52	Jharkhand	Hazaribagh
53	Jharkhand	Ramgarh
54	Jharkhand	Dumka
55	Jharkhand	Ranchi
56	Jharkhand	Khunti
57	Jharkhand	Gumla
58	Jharkhand	Simdega
59	Jharkhand	Pashchimi Singhbhum
60	Karnataka	Raichur
61	Karnataka	Yadgir
62	Kerala	Wayanad
63	Madhya Pradesh	Chhatarpur
64	Madhya Pradesh	Damoh
65	Madhya Pradesh	Barwani
66	Madhya Pradesh	Rajgarh
67	Madhya Pradesh	Vidisha
68	Madhya Pradesh	Guna
69	Madhya Pradesh	Singrauli
70	Madhya Pradesh	Khandwa
71	Maharashtra	Nandurbar
72	Maharashtra	Washim
73	Maharashtra	Gadchiroli
74	Maharashtra	Osmanabad
75	Manipur	Chandel
76	Meghalaya	Ribhoi
77	Mizoram	Mamit
78	Nagaland	Kiphire
79	Odisha	Dhenkanal
80	Odisha	Gajapati
81	Odisha	Kandhamal
82	Odisha	Balangir
83	Odisha	Kalahandi
84	Odisha	Rayagada
85	Odisha	Koraput
86	Odisha	Malkangiri
87	Odisha	Nabarangpur
88	Odisha	Nuapada
89	Punjab	Moga

S. No.	State	District
90	Punjab	Firozpur
91	Rajasthan	Dholpur
92	Rajasthan	Karauli
93	Rajasthan	Jaisalmer
94	Rajasthan	Sirohi
95	Rajasthan	Baran
96	Sikkim	West Sikkim
97	Tamil Nadu	Virudhunagar
98	Tamil Nadu	Ramanathapuram
99	Telangana	Asifabad
100	Telangana	Bhoopalapally
101	Telangana	Bhadradri-Kothagudem
102	Tripura	Dhalai
103	Uttar Pradesh	Chitrakoot
104	Uttar Pradesh	Fatehpur
105	Uttar Pradesh	Bahraich
106	Uttar Pradesh	Shrawasti
107	Uttar Pradesh	Balrampur
108	Uttar Pradesh	Siddharthnagar
109	Uttar Pradesh	Chandauli
110	Uttar Pradesh	Sonbhadra
111	Uttarakhand	Udham Singh Nagar
112	Uttarakhand	Haridwar
