## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS

#### **LOK SABHA**

## **UNSTARRED QUESTION NO- 3671**

ANSWERED ON- 08/08/2022

#### STUDENTS ENROLLED IN EMRS

3671. DR. (PROF.) KIRIT PREMJIBHAI SOLANKI:

Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of students enrolled till now in established Eklavya Model Residential Schools;
- (b) whether the Government plans to expand the number of schools and if so, district-wise details thereof, specifically to the State of Gujarat;
- (c) whether the Government is willing to reconsider admission criteria for enrollment in Eklavya Model Residential to give easy access and provide benefit to ST students across the country;
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (e) the details of funds allocated/utilized under the said EMRS during the last three years?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE FOR TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SMT. RENUKA SINGH SARUTA)

- (a): The number of students enrolled for the Academic Year 2021-22 was 105463. However, admission procedure is going on for current Academic Year.
- **(b):** In the Union Budget of 2018-19, Government of India announced that every block with more than 50% ST population and at least 20,000 tribal persons, is scheduled to have an EMRS. According to the criteria, this Ministry has set the target of establishing 740 schools in 28 States/UTs. As on date, 684 locations have been sanctioned, including 41 in Gujarat. District-wise details is at **Annexure**.

- (c) and (d): As per the existing guidelines, after state level exam. the students are given choice to opt for any school within a state based on merit. This Ministry has not received any request from any state to take National Level Test for admission and give option to student to choose a any school across country. The basic purpose behind the concept of Eklavya was that the students should get quality education in their own environment. The States have been advised to select teachers who know the local language. In case of National level test, language specially Spoken language used for communication with children would be a challenge.
- (e): Ministry releases funds to National Education Society for Tribal Students (NESTS), an autonomous society under the Ministry to manage and implement the scheme of EMRS. NESTS further releases funds to States/ UTs/ PSUs/ construction agencies/ State societies for construction of EMRSs and recurring cost for running of the schools. Funds released and utilization reported for EMRS during the last three years are as under:

Amount (Rs. in lakh)

2019-20*		2020-21		2021-22	
Fund	Utilization	Fund	Utilization	Fund	Utilization
released	reported	released	reported	released	reported
266140.83	226103.33	119997.88	119997.88	105774.00	29775.96

<sup>\*</sup> During 2019-20, fund was released under Article 275(1) of the Constitution of India along with other activities including EMRS

Annexure as referred to in Part (b) of the reply to Lok Sabha Unstarred Qs. No. 3671 for 08.08.2022 raised by Dr. (Prof.) Kirit Premjibhai Solanki regarding "Students enrolled in EMRS".

### **District-Wise EMRSs**

State	District	Number of EMRS sanctioned in the district
Andhra Pradesh	Chittoor	1
	East Godavari	6
	Prakasam	1
	SPS Nellore	2
	Srikakulam	2
	Visakhapatanam	11
	Vizianagaram	4
	West Godavari	1
Arunachal	East Kameng	2
Pradesh	Kurung Kumey	1
	Lohit	1
	Lower Dibang Valley	1
	Lower Subansari	1
	Tawang	1
	Tirap	1
	West Siang	2
Assam	Baksa	2
	Barpeta	1
	Dhemaji	1
	Dima Hasao	2
	Karbi Anglong	4
	Kokrajhar	1
Bihar	Jamui	1
	Kaimur (Bhabua)	1
	West Champaran	1
Chhattisgarh	Balod	1
	Baloda Bazar	1
	Balrampur	6
	Bastar	6
	Bijapur	4
	Bilaspur	1

	Dantewada	4
	Dhamtari	1
	Gariyaband	2
	Gaurella Pendra Marwahi	2
	Janjgir Champa	1
	Jashpur	4
	Kabirdham	1
	Kanker	5
	Kondagaon	5
	Korba	3
	Koriya	3
	Mahasamund	1
	Mungeli	1
<u> </u>	Narayanpur	2
<u> </u>	Raigarh	4
	Rajnandgaon	3
<u> </u>	Sukma	3
<u> </u>	Surajpur	4
D 1 0 N	Surguja	5
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman &		
Diu	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	1
Gujarat	Arvalli	2
	Banas Kantha	3
	Bharuch	2
	Chhota Udepur	3
	Chhotaudepur	1
	Dahod	5
	Dang	2
	Mahisagar	2
	Narmada	5
	Navsari	1
	Panch Mahal	1
	Sabar Kantha	2
<u> </u>	Surat	3
<u> </u>	Tapi	5
<u> </u>	Vadodara	1
Himo alsa 1 Dua 1 s. 1.	Valsad	<b>3</b>
Himachal Pradesh	Chamba Kinnaur	1
-	Lahaul and Spiti	1
Jammu & Kashmir	Anantnag	1
Zamma & Ixasimini	Bandipora	1
	Kulgam	1
	Poonch	1
	Rajouri	2
	Kajoun	

Jharkhand	Chatra	1
	Dhanbad	1
	Dumka	5
	East Singhbhum	5
	Garhwa	1
	Giridih	1
	Godda	1
	Gumla	11
	Jamtara	1
	Khunti	6
	Latehar	4
	Lohardaga	6
	Pakur	3
	Palamu	1
	Ranchi	9
	Sahibganj	5
	Saraikela Kharsawan	3
	Simdega	8
	West Singhbhum	16
Karnataka	Belgaum	1
	Bellary	1
	Chamarajanagar	1
	Chikmagalur	1
	Chitradurga	1
	Kalaburagi	1
	Kodagu	1
	Kolar	1
	Mysore	1
	Raichur	1
	Tumkur	1
** 1	Yadgir	1
Kerala	Idukki	1
	Kasaragod	1
	Palakkad	1
T - J-1-1-	Wayanad	<u>1</u> 2
Ladakh	Kargil Leh	<u> </u>
Madhya Pradesh	Alirajpur	4
Madifya i radesii	Anuppur	2
	Balaghat	2
	Barwani	5
	Betul Betul	4
	Bhopal	1
		<u> </u>
<u> </u>	Burhanpur Chhindwara	4
-		
	Dhar	6

	Dindori	4
	Guna	1
	Harda	1
	Hoshangabad	1
	Indore	2
_	Jabalpur	3
<u> </u>	Jhabua	4
-	Khandwa (East Nimar)	1
		4
<u> </u>	Khargone	5
<u> </u>	Mandla	
<u> </u>	Ratlam	2
_	Satna	2
_	Sehore	1
	Seoni	2
_	Shahdol	3
<u> </u>	Sheopur	1
<u> </u>	Sidhi	1
	Singrauli	1
	Umaria	1
Maharashtra	Ahmadnagar	1
<u> </u>	Amravati	2
_	Chandrapur	1
<u> </u>	Dhule	2
<u> </u>	Gadchiroli	7
_	Gondiya	1
<u> </u>	Nagpur	1
<u> </u>	Nanded	1
<u> </u>	Nandurbar	6
_	Nashik	8
	Palghar	5
	Thane	1
	Yavatmal	1
Manipur	Chandel	2
<u> </u>	Churachandpur	4
<u> </u>	Kamjong	1
<u> </u>	Kangpokpi	3
<u> </u>	Pherzawl	1
<u> </u>	Senapati	3
<u> </u>	Tamenglong	4
<u></u>	Tengnoupal	1
	Ukhrul	2
Meghalaya	East Garo Hills	2
	East Jaintia Hills	<u>2</u> 4
_	East Khasi Hills North Garo Hills	2
_	Ri-Bhoi	2
	South Garo Hills	3
	South Gard Hills	J

	South West Garo Hills	2
	South West Khasi Hills	2
	West Garo Hills	4
	West Jaintia Hills	1
	West Khasi Hills	3
Mizoram	Aizawl	3
	Champhai	3
	Kolasib	1
-	Lawngtlai	2
	Lunglei	3
	Mamit	2
-	Serchhip	1
	Siaha	2
No solou d	Mon	2
Nagaland		2
-	Dimapur	
	Kiphire	1
<u> </u>	Kohima	3
<u> </u>	Longleng	1
<u> </u>	Mokokchung	5
<u> </u>	Peren	2
<u> </u>	Phek	1
<u> </u>	Tuensang	3
<u> </u>	Wokha	1
- 44.4	Zunheboto	1
Odisha	Baleshwar	1
<u> </u>	Bolangir	1
<u> </u>	Debagarh	1
<u> </u>	Dhenkanal	1
<u> </u>	Gajapati	4
<u> </u>	Jajapur	1
<u> </u>	Jharsuguda	2
_	Kalahandi	2
_	Kandhamal	8
_	Kendujhar	8
	Koraput	9
<u> </u>	Malkangiri	5
<u> </u>	Mayurbhanj	23
	Nabarangpur	8
L	Nuapada	1
	Rayagada	9
	Sambalpur	4
	Sundargarh	16
Rajasthan	Alwar	2
<u> </u>	Banswara Baran	<u>6</u>
-	Baran Dungarpur	4
_	Jaipur	2
<del> </del>	Karauli	1
<u> </u>	Pratapgarh	4
-	Sawai Madhopur	1
	Sirohi	1

	Tonk	1
	Udaipur	8
Sikkim	East District	1
	North District	1
	South District	1
	West District	1
Tamil Nadu	Kanchipuram	1
	Namakkal	1
	Salem	2
	The Nilgiris	1
	Tirupattur	1
	Tiruvannamalai	1
	Villupuram (Kalakuruchi)	1
Telangana	Adilabad	3
	Bhadradri Kothagudem	7
	Kamareddy	1
	Khammam	1
	Komaram Bheem Asifabad	1
	Mahabubabad	5
	Mahbubnagar	1
	Nagarkurnool	1
	Nizamabad	1
	Rajanna Sircilla	2
Tripura	Dhalai	4
· F	Gomati	5
	Khowai	3
	North Tripura	3
	Sepahijala	1
	South Tripura	1
	Unakoti	1
	West Tripura	3
Uttar Pradesh	Bahraich	1
	Kheri	1
	Lalitpur	1
	Sonbhadra	1
Uttarakhand	Dehradun	2
	Udam Singh Nagar	2
West Bengal	Bankura	1
	Barddhaman	1
	Birbhum	1
	Dakshin Dinajpur	1
<u> </u>	Darjiling	1
Γ	Jalpaiguri	1
	Jhargram	1
<u> </u>	Purulia	1
•	GRAND TOTAL	684