GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CULTURE

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3641

TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.08.2022

CLASSIFICATION OF PROTECTED MONUMENTS

3641. SHRI RAJ KUMAR CHAHAR:

Will the Minister of Culture be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of ticketed and non-ticketed ASI monuments in the country;
- (b) whether any classification of the protected monuments has been made, if so, the details and the lists thereof;
- (c) the number of missing monuments in the country;
- (d) the number of monuments which have a cultural notice board with its lists; and
- (e) whether the Government is aware that non-ticketed and less popular protected monuments should not have a limit of 100 meters around them as prohibited area?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF CULTURE, TOURISM AND DEVELOPMENT OF NORTH EASTERN REGION

(SHRI G. KISHAN REDDY)

- (a) There are 3693 monuments/sites declared as of national importance under the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains (AMASR) Act, 1958 in the country, out of which entry fee is charged at 143 locations.
- (b) For entry fee purpose monuments have been divided into two groups. Group 'A'- monuments inscribed on World Heritage list, Group 'B'- others. Category 'A' has 20 entries and remaining 123 are under Category 'B'. The details of protected monuments are on ASI website www.asi.nic.in
- (c) 24 monuments/sites are untraceable.
- (d) List of monuments having cultural notice boards is provided at Annexure.
- (e) Under section 20A of the AMASR Act area extending to a distance of one hundred meters from the limit, of the protected monument is prohibited area. Some of the monuments have a larger area notified as prohibited area.

ANNEXURE

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (d) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3641 FOR 08.08.2022.

STATE-WISE NUMBER OF MONUMENTS WHICH HAVE A CULTURAL NOTICE BOARD

SL.NO.	NAME OF THE STATE	NUMBER OF MONUMENTS WHICH HAVE A CULTURAL NOTICE BOARD
1.	ANDHRA PRADESH	8
2.	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1
3.	ASSAM	19
4.	BIHAR	14
5.	CHHATTISGARH	6
6.	DAMAN & DIU (UT)	6
7.	DELHI	30
8.	GOA	18
9.	GUJARAT	66
10.	HARYANA	33
11.	HIMACHAL PRADESH	21
12.	JAMMU & KASHMIR (UT)	28
13.	JHARKHAND	5
14.	KARNATAKA	201
15.	KERALA	26
16.	LADAKH UT	4
17.	MADHYA PRADESH	170
18.	MAHARASHTRA	35
19.	MANIPUR	1
20.	MIZORAM	1
21.	NAGALAND	1
22.	ODISHA	15
23.	PUDUCHERRY	6
24.	PUNJAB	4
25.	RAJASTHAN	62
26.	SIKKIM	3
27.	TAMIL NADU	164
28.	TELANGANA	6
29.	TRIPURA	6
30.	UTTAR PRADESH	112
31.	UTTARAKHAND	33
32.	WEST BENGAL	119
		Total 1224
