GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH & EDUCATION

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2698 TO BE ANSWERED ON 2nd August, 2022

AGRICULTURAL COLLEGES UNDER CPCRI

2698. SHRI JASWANT SINGH BHABHOR:

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government is formulating any scheme to set up an agricultural college as an agriculture based centre under the Central Plantation Crops Research Institute (CPCRI);

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) whether any action has been taken to set up such agricultural colleges in various parts of the country; and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि और किसान कल्याण मंत्री (SHRI NARENDRA SINGH TOMAR)

(a) & (b): At present, there is no proposal to start an Agricultural College under Central Plantation Crops Research Institute (CPCRI) as an Agricultural Based Centre.

(c) & (d): Agriculture including Agriculture education being the state subjects, setting up of agricultural colleges comes under the purview of respective State Government. At present there are 63 State Agriculture (SAU) based Universities in different states. Besides, there are three Central Agricultural Universities in the country and their names and locations are as below:

- i. Central Agricultural University, Imphal, Manipur.
- ii. Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University, Pusa, Samastipur, Bihar.
- iii. Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agricultural University, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh.

Apart from this there are four deemed agricultural universities under the aegis of Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) as below:

- i. ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, P
- ii. usa, New Delhi.
- iii. ICAR-Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Mumbai, Maharashtra.
- iv. ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar, Uttar Pradesh.
- v. ICAR-National Dairy Research Institute, Karnal, Haryana.

OIH