## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2621

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 2<sup>ND</sup> AUGUST, 2022/ SRAVANA 11, 1944 (SAKA)
STATE REORGANISATION ACT, 1956

†2621. SHRI SUNIL KUMAR SINGH:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of regional councils established under the States Reorganization Act, 1956;
- (b) the composition of the regional councils and the person who presides over its meetings; and
- (c) the number of meetings of the regional councils conducted and the implications of deliberations held in the meetings during the last three years?

## **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

- (a): Five Zonal Councils, viz., Northern Zonal Council, Central Zonal Council, Eastern Zonal Council, Western Zonal Council, and Southern Zonal Council have been set up under the States Reorgaization Act, 1956.
- (b): The States Reorganisation Act 1956 provides that the Zonal Councils shall consist of the following members:
  - i. A Union Minister to be nominated by the President.

- ii. the Chief Minister of each of the States included in the Zone and two other Ministers of each such State to be nominated by the Governor and if there is no Council of Ministers in any such State, three members from that State to be nominated by the President;
- iii. where any Union Territory is included in the Zone, not more than two members from each such territory to be nominated by the President.

Meetings of the Zonal Councils are chaired by Union Home Minister.

(c): During the last three years, seven meetings of Zonal Councils have been held.

The meetings of the Zonal Councils take place in cordial and amicable atmosphere and recommendations on the Issues are made after detailed deliberations in the spirit of co-operative federalism.

\*\*\*\*\*